Loading Scores...

Aces' Shasby Is Rbk Hockey
Plus Performer Of Year

PRINCETON, N.J. – The ECHL announced on Tuesday that Alaska Aces defenseman Matt Shasby is the recipient of the Rbk Hockey Plus Performer of the Year award.

He is the second Alaska player in a row to win the award joining Peter Metcalf, who plus-minus rating of +44 for 69 games in 2005-06.

Shasby had a plus-minus rating of +43 in 66 games to finish ahead of Ryan Reid of Dayton, who was second with a plus-minus rating of +32 in 72 games, and teammate Vladimir Novak, who was third with a plus-minus rating of +30 in 63 games. Ryan Brindley of Florida was fourth with a plus-minus rating of +29 in 48 games while Travis Wight of Idaho finished fifth and led all ECHL rookies with a plus-minus rating of +27 in 70 games.

Shasby was selected Second Team All-ECHL last week and finished fourth in voting for ECHL Defenseman of the Year after finishing second among league defensemen with 45 assists and third with 55 points in 66 games. In his fourth professional season, he has 145 points (29g-116a) in 239 regular season games and 10 points (4g-6a) in 27 games in the Kelly Cup Playoffs, including 10 points (4g-6a) in 22 games in 2006 when he helped Alaska win the Kelly Cup.

ECHL Plus-Minus Rating Leaders
2006-07 Matt Shasby, Alaska Aces +43
2005-06 Peter Metcalf, Alaska Aces +44
2004-05 Aaron Phillips, Pensacola Ice Pilots +36
2003-04 Tim Smith, Columbia Inferno +40
2002-03 Dennis Vial, Columbia Inferno +37
Mike Glumac, Pee Dee Pride +37
2001-02 Konstantin Kalmikov, Louisiana IceGators +43
2000-01 Jay Murphy, Louisiana IceGators +32
1999-00 Andy MacIntyre, Florida Everblades +46
1998-99 Jan Vodrazka, Pee Dee Pride +44
1997-98 Stan Melanson, Louisiana IceGators +36
1996-97 Dominic Maltais, Hampton Roads Admirals +44
1995-96 Kim Maier, Knoxville Checkers +48
1994-95 Jamie Steer, Dayton Bombers +43
1993-94 Sebastien LaPlante, Greensboro Monarchs +42
1992-93 Victor Gervais, Hampton Roads Admirals +59
1991-92 Brad McCaughey, Toledo +51


The league officially changed its name to ECHL on May 19, 2003.

The Premier ‘AA’ Hockey League, the ECHL has affiliations with 25 of the 30 teams in the National Hockey League in 2006-07, marking 10th consecutive season that the league has had affiliations with at least 20 teams in the NHL.

There have been 329 former ECHL players who have gone on to play in the NHL after playing in the ECHL, including a record 47 in 2005-06 and 26 in 2006-07. There have been 184 former ECHL players who have played their first game in the NHL in the past five seasons and 107 former ECHL players have skated in the NHL this season. More than 100 players under contract to NHL teams have played in the ECHL this season.

The ECHL was represented for the sixth consecutive year on the National Hockey League championship team, including Carolina Hurricanes head coach Peter Laviolette, who is the first ECHL coach to win the Stanley Cup.

The ECHL has affiliations with 24 of the 27 teams in the American Hockey League in 2006-07 and for the past 17 years there has been an ECHL player on the Calder Cup champion. The ECHL has had more players called up to the AHL than all other professional leagues combined each of the past four seasons with 1,646 call ups involving almost 1,000 players.