Loading Scores...

Alaska's Underhill Is Rbk Hockey Goaltender of the Year

PRINCETON, N.J. – The ECHL on Wednesday announced that Matt Underhill of the Alaska Aces is the recipient of the Rbk Hockey Goaltender of the Year award for 2005-06.

The Rbk Hockey Goaltender of the Year award is presented annually to the goaltender adjudged to be the best at his position as determined in a vote of ECHL coaches.

The 26-year-old was 36-10-3 and led the ECHL with 36 wins while tying the league record for the fourth-most wins in a season. Underhill, who is under contract to Peoria of the American Hockey League, finished tied for the league lead with five shutouts while finishing tied for second with a goals-against average of 2.28 and fifth with 2,979 minutes.

Marc Magliarditi of Las Vegas (51 gp, 34-11-5, 3 shutouts, 2.47 GAA, .909 save pct.) finished second in the voting followed by Wheeling rookie Andy Franck (55 gp, 33-15-5, 5 shutouts, 2.28 GAA, .919 save pct.) and Drew MacIntyre of Toledo (33 gp, 24-7-2, 2 shutouts, 2.06 GAA, .926 save pct.).

Rbk Hockey ECHL Goaltender of the Year Award Winners
2005-06 Matt Underhill, Alaska Aces
2004-05 Chris Madden, Florida Everblades/Long Beach Ice Dogs
2003-04 Scott Stirling, Atlantic City Boardwalk Bullies
2002-03 Alfie Michaud, Peoria Rivermen
2001-02 Frederic Cloutier, Louisiana IceGators
2000-01 Scott Stirling, Trenton Titans
1999-00 Jan Lasak, Hampton Roads Admirals
1998-99 Maxime Gingras, Richmond Renegades
1997-98 Nick Vitucci, Toledo Storm
1996-97 Marc Delorme, Louisiana IceGators
1995-96 Alain Morissette, Louisville RiverFrogs
1994-95 Chris Gordon, Huntington Blizzard
1993-94 Cory Cadden, Knoxville Cherokees