Alaska’s Sivak receives 2013-14 ECHL Sportsmanship Award

Peter Sivak of the Alaska Aces is the recipient of the Sportsmanship Award for 2013-14 as determined in a vote of ECHL coaches, broadcasters, media relations directors and media members.


The award is presented annually to the player who is judged to have exhibited the best sportsmanship combined with a high standard of playing ability.


Andrew Rowe of Greenville finished second, followed by Kalamazoo’s Sam Ftorek, Kyle Rogers of Toledo and Colorado’s Trent Daavettila.


Sivak, who was named to the All-ECHL First Team on Thursday, leads the ECHL in plus-minus at +46, is second with 50 assists and 79 points and is tied for second with 29 goals, while being assessed just 10 penalty minutes in 65 games this season.


The 32-year-old has tallied 135 points (62g-73a) in 129 career ECHL games with Alaska and San Francisco with only 38 penalty minutes while adding five points (4g-1a) in 12 career AHL games with Abbotsford and Worcester. Prior to coming to North America last season, he skated in 576 career games in the Slovakian and Czech Extraliga leagues, amassing 232 points (110g-122a) in 575 games.

ECHL Sportsmanship Award Winners


2014 Peter Sivak Alaska Aces
2013 Randy Rowe Toledo Walleye
2012 Kevin Ulanski Colorado Eagles
2011 Brian Swanson Alaska Aces
2010 Barret Ehgoetz Cincinnati Cyclones
2009 Travis Morin South Carolina Stingrays
2008 Jeff Campbell Gwinnett Gladiators
2007 Derek Nesbitt Idaho Steelheads
2006 Steve Saviano Florida Everblades
2005 Kris Goodjohn Gwinnett Gladiators
2004 Mark Pederson San Diego Gulls
2003 Rejean Stringer Columbia Inferno
2002 Ben Stafford Trenton Titans
2001 Jamie Ling Dayton Bombers
2000 Jamie Ling Dayton Bombers
1999 Jamie Ling Dayton Bombers
1998 Cal Ingraham Tallahassee TigerSharks
1997 Mike Ross South Carolina Stingrays