Bailey receives Award of Excellence for Media Relations

The ECHL announced on Tuesday that Chuck Bailey of the Fort Wayne Komets is the 2014-15 recipient of the Award of Excellence for Media Relations as determined in voting by members of the media, league media relations directors and broadcasters.

The other finalists were Tommy Daniels of the Allen Americans, Kevin McGlue of the Colorado Eagles, Mark Thompson of the Reading Royals and Adrian Denny of the Utah Grizzlies.

A Fort Wayne native, Bailey has spent the previous 22 seasons as the Komets Director of Communications and Media Relations. Bailey started a broadcasting career in radio in 1971 when he accepted a position with then WPTH FM 95 in Fort Wayne (now Best 95.1). His radio career took him to Rockford, Ill.; Flint, Mich.; and Grand Rapids, Mich. before he returned to Fort Wayne in 1988 as program manager of WOWO Radio AM 1190. During Bailey’s stint at WOWO he met then radio salesmen Michael Franke and David Franke, who later became co-owners of the Komets. Bailey joined the Franke’s to help manage the Komets in 1993, ending his 22-year radio career.

While a member of the Komets’ front office, Bailey has witnessed five league championships and five regular-season titles. He has been a part of the Komets’ success in collecting five Member Club of the Year Awards. He also has received three honors as Media Relations Director of the Year.

He continues to make his home in Fort Wayne. He and his wife Jan have three children and eight grandchildren.

ECHL Award of Excellence for Media Relations Winners

2015 Chuck Bailey
Fort Wayne Komets
2014 Nick Brunker Cincinnati Cyclones
2013 Kevin Bartl and Ryan Holt
Bakersfield Condors
2012 J.P. Puma
Colorado Eagles
2011 Will Hoenike Idaho Steelheads
2010 Eric Levine Elmira Jackals
2009 Mike Benton Stockton Thunder
2008 John Hamel Cincinnati Cyclones
  Jeff Harris and Mike Walker Victoria Salmon Kings
2007 Dustin Bixby Gwinnett Gladiators
  Josh Fisher Las Vegas Wranglers
2006 Jeremy Zager San Diego Gulls
2005 Jeremy Zager San Diego Gulls
2004 Mike Kelly Mississippi Sea Wolves
2003 Ryan Stanzel Louisiana IceGators
2002 Bill McLaughlin Greenville Grrrowl
2001 Darren Abbott South Carolina Stingrays
2000 Darren Abbott South Carolina Stingrays
1999 Mark Simpson Charlotte Checkers
1998 Andy Davis Richmond Renegades
1997 Peter Kostos Louisiana IceGators