Brunker receives Award of Excellence for Media Relations

Nick Brunker of the Cincinnati Cyclones is the 2013-14 recipient of the Award of Excellence for Media Relations as determined in voting by members of the media, league media relations directors and broadcasters.

The other finalists were Ray Schmitt of the Elmira Jackals, Chuck Bailey of the Fort Wayne Komets, Will Hoenike of the Idaho Steelheads and Adrian Denny of the Utah Grizzlies.

Brunker recently completed his fourth season as the Director of Public Relations and Broadcasting for the Cyclones. Prior to joining the team in 2010, he served as a producer and occasional fill-in host at WCKY-AM. A native of Cincinnati, Brunker played high school hockey at Sycamore High School, where he was the team’s starting goaltender, before attending Miami University, where he called RedHawks hockey for four years before graduating in 2006. While at Miami he also did football, baseball, basketball and two summers as Dayton Dragons analyst and assistant media relations director.

ECHL Award of Excellence for Media Relations Winners

2014 Nick Brunker Cincinnati Cyclones
2013 Kevin Bartl and Ryan Holt
Bakersfield Condors
2012 J.P. Puma
Colorado Eagles
2011 Will Hoenike Idaho Steelheads
2010 Eric Levine Elmira Jackals
2009 Mike Benton Stockton Thunder
2008 John Hamel Cincinnati Cyclones
  Jeff Harris and Mike Walker Victoria Salmon Kings
2007 Dustin Bixby Gwinnett Gladiators
  Josh Fisher Las Vegas Wranglers
2006 Jeremy Zager San Diego Gulls
2005 Jeremy Zager San Diego Gulls
2004 Mike Kelly Mississippi Sea Wolves
2003 Ryan Stanzel Louisiana IceGators
2002 Bill McLaughlin Greenville Grrrowl
2001 Darren Abbott South Carolina Stingrays
2000 Darren Abbott South Carolina Stingrays
1999 Mark Simpson Charlotte Checkers
1998 Andy Davis Richmond Renegades
1997 Peter Kostos Louisiana IceGators