Loading Scores...

Columbia’s Smith Wins C&T Hockey Products
Plus Perfomer of the Year Award

PRINCETON, N.J. – The ECHL announced on Tuesday that Columbia forward Tim Smith is the 2003-04 recipient of the C&T Hockey Products Plus Performer of the Year. In his second professional season, Smith led the ECHL with a plus-minus rating of +40, four ahead of Wheeling’s Jake Ortmeyer, who finished with a plus-minus rating of +36. Peoria’s Tyler Rennette was third in plus-minus rating with +35 followed by Gwinnett’s Jim Jackson with +34 and Wheeling’s J.C. Ruid with +33.

Smith’s teammate Dennis Vial shared the award with Pee Dee forward Mike Glumac in 2002-03.

The first Columbia player to be named to the All-ECHL First Team, the 22-year-old Smith set a team record with 62 assists and had the second-highest point total in team history with 95 points. Selected in the ninth round (272nd overall) by Vancouver in the 2000 NHL Entry Draft and under contract to Vancouver, the 5-9 and 165-pound Smith led the Inferno with 33 goals, 17 power-play assists and 24 power-play points (7g-17a) while tying for second on the team in power-play goals with seven. He has also played in one game with Manitoba in the American Hockey League in 2003-04.

C&T Hockey Products ECHL Plus Performer of the Year Award Winners

Tim Smith, Columbia Inferno

Dennis Vial, Columbia Inferno
Mike Glumac, Pee Dee Pride

Konstantin Kalmikov, Louisiana IceGators

Jay Murphy, Louisiana IceGators

Andy MacIntyre, Florida Everblades

The ECHL will announce the 2003-04 recipient of the John Brophy Award, presented to the Coach of the Year on Wednesday, April 7.