Loading Scores...

Florida's Roy wins ECHL Scoring Title

PRINCETON, N.J. – The ECHL on Monday announced that
Mathieu Roy of the Florida Everblades has won the league scoring championship with 89 points (38g-51a).

Michael Forney was second with 79 points (35g-44a) followed by Jacob Cepis of Trenton with 76 points (25g-51a), and Florida’s Matthew Pistilli (25g-50a) and Gwinnett’s Casey Pierro-Zabotel (22g-53a) who both finished with 75 points.

Roy, who also led the league with 38 goals, is the first player since
Kevin Baker in 2008-09 to lead the ECHL in both goals and points. The 26-year-old was named to the All-ECHL First Team last week. He finished the season tied for fourth in the league with 51 assists, was tied for fourth with 21 power-play assists and was second with 32 power-play points.

A native of Amos, Quebec, Roy has 281 points (123g-158a) in 393 career ECHL games with Pensacola and Florida and he has added 17 points (9g-8a) in 31 Kelly Cup Playoffs games. Roy captained the Everblades to their first-ever Kelly Cup title in 2012.

ECHL Leading Scorer Award Winners

2013 Mathieu Roy Florida Everblades 89 points
2012 Dustin Gazley Elmira Jackals 85 points
2011 Justin Donati Elmira Jackals 94 points
2010 Tyler Donati Elmira Jackals 114 points
2009 Kevin Baker Florida Everblades 102 points
2008 David Desharnais Cincinnati Cyclones 106 points
2007 Brad Schell Gwinnett Gladiators 110 points
2006 Alex Leavitt Alaska Aces 91 points
2005 Scott Gomez Alaska Aces 86 points
2004 Tim Smith Columbia Inferno 95 points
2003 Buddy Smith Arkansas RiverBlades 104 points
2002 Louis Dumont Pensacola IcePilots 102 points
2001 Scott King Charlotte Checkers 101 points
2000 John Spoltore Louisiana IceGators 119 points
1999 John Spoltore Louisiana IceGators 109 points
1998 Jamey Hicks Birmingham Bulls 119 points
1997 Ed Courtenay South Carolina Stingrays 110 points
1996 Hugo P. Belanger Nashville Knights 144 points
1995 Scott Burfoot Erie Panthers 97 points
1994 Phil Berger Greensboro Monarchs 139 points
1993 Trevor Jobe Nashville Knights 161 points
1992 Phil Berger Greensboro Monarchs 130 points
1991 Stan Drulia Knoxville Cherokees 140 points
1990 Bill McDougall Erie Panthers 148 points
1989 Daryl Harpe Erie Panthers 122 points