Grizzlies’ Vock goes for history tonight

PRINCETON, N.J. – Colin Vock of Utah will try to become only the fifth player in ECHL history to score three-or-more goals in three straight games when the Grizzlies play at Idaho tonight.


The 27-year-old scored three goals, including two on the power play, in the Grizzlies’ 6-5 shootout loss at Ontario on Friday and added another hat trick, scoring the eventual game-winner and adding another power-play goal, in Utah’s 3-0 win against the Reign on Saturday.


Vock is one of two players this season to have three games with three-or-more-goals. In addition to the two games last week, he also tallied three goals on Nov. 30 against San Francisco. Ontario’s Colton Yellow Horn has scored three goals on Nov. 28 against Ontario, Jan. 4 against Utah and Jan. 15 at Bakersfield.


The last time an ECHL player had three goals or more in three consecutive games was 1997 when Steve Gibson of Wheeling scored three goals against Johnstown on Mar. 16, three goals at Peoria on Mar. 18 and four goals against Columbus on Mar. 21.


Brian Martin of Hampton Roads was the first player to score a hat trick in three straight games, accomplishing the feat in 1989 on Dec. 9 against Nashville, Dec. 10 against Virginia and Dec. 12 against Knoxville. The record was tied by Trent Kaese of Columbus in 1992 and Darryl Noren of Charlotte in 1994. 


Six players have scored hat tricks in back-to-back games since Gibson tied the record with the last being J.M. Daoust of Cincinnati with three goals on Dec. 16, 2007 against Johnstown and on Dec. 19, 2007 against Wheeling. Dusty Jamieson of Charlotte scored three goals on Oct. 20 and 21, 2006 against Wheeling. Miguel Delisle of Idaho scored three goals in consecutive games against Bakersfield on Dec. 17 and 19, 2004 while Andrew Williamson of Toledo scored three goals in consecutive games on Feb. 9, 2001 at Johnstown and had four goals on Feb. 10, 2001 at Johnstown. Williamson led the league with 63 goals in 1999-2000 and 52 goals in 2000-01, the last season that an ECHL player registered 50 goals.  


In a six-game span in 1999-2000, Jay Murphy of Louisiana scored four hat tricks, including back-to-back games on Mar. 12 against Birmingham and Mar. 17 against Jacksonville, and had two goals in the other two games. Paul Strand of Raleigh scored five goals on Jan. 17, 1998 against Roanoke and had three goals on Jan. 23, 1998 at Hampton Roads.


Premier ‘AA’ Hockey League Fast Facts 

• Watch games live on America One Sports, the “Official Broadband & Mobile Broadcaster” of the ECHL.

• The ECHL celebrates its 25th Anniversary in 2012-13 and is the third-longest tenured professional hockey league behind only the National Hockey League and the American Hockey League.

• ECHL began in 1988-89 with five teams in four states and has grown to be a coast-to-coast league with 23 teams in 16 states in 2012-13.

• The league officially changed its name from East Coast Hockey League to ECHL on May 19, 2003.

494 players have played in the NHL after playing in the ECHL including 23 in 2011-12.

• Four ECHL players have made their NHL debuts this season: former Gwinnett Gladiators forward Matt Anderson (New Jersey on Jan. 29), former Cincinnati Cyclones forward Cory Conacher (Tampa Bay on Jan. 19), former Reading Royals left wing Antoine Roussel (Dallas on Feb. 1) and former Toledo Storm right wing and 2007 ECHL All-Star Jamie Tardif (Boston on Feb. 2).

• The ECHL has had 302 players reach the NHL since 2002-03 when it changed its focus to become the primary developmental league for the NHL and the AHL. The ECHL had 97 players reach the NHL in its first 10 seasons and 215 in the first 15 years.

• 238 ECHL players have played their first game in the last eight seasons for an average of more than 29 per year.

• ECHL had a record 87 players on NHL opening-day rosters in 2012-13, surpassing the 81 from 2011-12 and marking the 10th year in a row that there have been over 50 former ECHL players on opening-day rosters.

• ECHL has affiliations with 25 of the 30 NHL teams in 2012-13, marking the 16th consecutive season that the league had affiliations with at least 20 teams in the NHL.

• 30 coaches with an ECHL background are working behind the benches of teams in the NHL including Anaheim Ducks head coach Bruce Boudreau, Pittsburgh Penguins head coach and 2011 Jack Adams Award winner Dan Bylsma, New York Islanders head coach Jack Capuano, Dallas Stars head coach Glen Gulutzan, Philadelphia Flyers head coach Peter Laviolette and Winnipeg Jets head coach Claude Noel. It is the seventh consecutive season that there have been 11 or more coaches with an ECHL background working in the NHL. Boudreau, who coached Mississippi for three seasons winning the Kelly Cup championship in 1999, was named NHL Coach of the Year in 2007-08 becoming the first former ECHL coach to receive the award.

• 26 former ECHL officials are scheduled to work as part of the NHL officiating team in 2012-13 with referees Darcy Burchell, Francis Charron, Ghislain Hebert, Jean Hebert, Marc Joannette, Trent Knorr, Mike Leggo, Dave Lewis, T.J. Luxmore, Wes McCauley, Jon McIsaac, Dean Morton, Dan O’Rourke, Brian Pochmara, Kevin Pollock, Kyle Rehman, Chris Rooney, Graham Skilliter, Justin St. Pierre and Ian Walsh, and linesmen Steve Barton, Matt MacPherson, Brian Mach, Tim Nowak, Bryan Pancich and Jay Sharrers.

• ECHL was represented for the 12th year in a row on the Stanley Cup champion in 2012 with Los Angeles Kings assistant coach Jamie Kompon, players Dwight King, Jordan Nolan and Jonathan Quick, manager of communications/broadcasting Jeremy Zager and scouts Steve Greeley, Mark Mullen and Mark Yannetti. Quick was named the recipient of the Conn Smythe Trophy as Most Valuable Player of the Stanley Cup Playoffs, marking the second consecutive year a former ECHL player won the award.. There were 43 former players and 13 coaches on the 16 teams competing in the National Hockey League’s Stanley Cup Playoffs, marking the seventh year in a row that there have been at least 30 former ECHL players and the ninth consecutive season that over 25 players with ECHL experience have competed in the NHL postseason.

• Former ECHL broadcasters working in the NHL include John Ahlers and Steve Carroll of the Anaheim Ducks, Tom Callahan of the Nashville Predators, Dave Goucher of the Boston Bruins, Chris Kerber of the St. Louis Blues, Jack Michaels of the Edmonton Oilers, Dave Mishkin of the Tampa Bay Lightning and Bob McElligott of the Columbus Blue Jackets.

• Ryan Stanzel and Jeremy Zager, who were both recipients of the ECHL Media Relations Director of the Year award, are working in the communications department for the Minnesota Wild and the Los Angeles Kings, respectively. Former ECHL assistant director of communications Joe Siville works in the communications department for the Philadelphia Flyers.

• ECHL has affiliations with 25 of the 30 teams in the American Hockey League in 2012-13 and for the past 23 years there has been an ECHL player on the Calder Cup Champion.

• In the last seven seasons the ECHL has had more call-ups to the AHL than all other professional leagues combined with over 3,500 call-ups involving more than 1,800 players and in 2011-12 there were 10 times as many call-ups from the ECHL to the AHL than all other professional leagues.

• The ECHL averaged 4,281 fans per game in 2011-12, marking the eighth consecutive season and the 20th time in the last 22 years that the ECHL has averaged over 4,000 fans.

• Further information on the ECHL is available from its website at, as well as on Facebook and Twitter.