Guimond named 2012-13 ECHL Defenseman of the Year

PRINCETON, N.J. – The ECHL on Wednesday announced that
Sacha Guimond of the Gwinnett Gladiators is the ECHL Defenseman of the Year for 2012-13 as determined in a vote of ECHL coaches, broadcasters, media relations directors and media members.

The ECHL Defenseman of the Year award is presented annually to the defensive player who demonstrates throughout the season the greatest all-around ability in the position.

Matt Case of Idaho finished second, followed by Reading’s Adam Comrie, Nick Tuzzolino of Utah and Toledo’s Wes O’Neill.

The winner of the Goaltender of the Year award will be announced on Thursday.

Guimond, who was named to the ECHL All-Rookie Team and to the All-ECHL First Team last week, led all ECHL defensemen with 37 assists and 49 points, and was fourth with 12 goals. He finished first among blue-liners with nine power-play goals and 29 power-play points while his 20 power-play assists were second among defensemen. Guimond has also appeared in six American Hockey League games with Worcester and Norfolk.

Guimond is just the third rookie in ECHL history to be named Defenseman of the Year joining Dayton’s Brandon Smith (1994-95) and Erie’s Kelly Szautner (1988-89).

ECHL Defenseman of the Year Award Winners

2013Sacha GuimondGwinnett Gladiators
2012 Aaron Schneekloth Colorado Eagles
2011Eric ReganElmira Jackals
2010J.C. SawyerToledo Walleye
2009Dylan YeoVictoria Salmon Kings
2008Peter MetcalfAlaska Aces
2007Jon AweGwinnett Gladiators
2006Ryan GaucherAlaska Aces
2005Ray DiLauroWheeling Nailers
2004Corey NeilsonPensacola Ice Pilots
2003Jim BaxterMississippi Sea Wolves
2002Duncan DalmaoRoanoke Express
2001Tom NemethDayton Bombers
2000Tom NemethDayton Bombers
1999Chris ValicevicLouisiana IceGators
1998Chris ValicevicLouisiana IceGators
1997Chris ValicevicLouisiana Ice Gators
1996Chris ValicevicLouisiana IceGators
1995Brandon SmithDayton Bombers
1994Tom NemethDayton Bombers
1993Derek BoothToledo Storm
1992Scott WhiteGreensboro Monarchs
1991Brett MacDonaldNashville Knights
1990Bill WhitfieldVirginia Lancers
1989Kelly SzautnerErie Panthers