Jakaitis repeats as Warrior Hockey ECHL Goaltender of the Year

The ECHL on Thursday announced that
Jeff Jakaitis of the South Carolina Stingrays is the recipient of the Warrior Hockey ECHL Goaltender of the Year award for 2014-15.

The Warrior Hockey Goaltender of the Year award is presented annually to the goaltender selected to be the best at his position as determined in a vote of ECHL coaches, broadcasters, media relations directors and media members.

Jakaitis also won the award in 2011-12 while with Gwinnett and last year with the Stingrays, becoming the first goaltender in ECHL history to win the Goaltender of the Year award three times. It is also the third consecutive year that a South Carolina goaltender has captured the award after Ryan Zapolski won in 2012-13.

Jeff Lerg of Toledo finished second, followed by South Carolina’s Adam Morrison, Garret Sparks of Orlando and Idaho’s Olivier Roy.

The winner of the CCM Most Valuable Player award will be announced on Friday.

Jakaitis, who was named to the All-ECHL First Team last week, led the ECHL with a 1.96 goals-against average and seven shutouts, which is tied for the second most in a single-season in ECHL history. He finished the season second in the league with a .924 save percentage and was sixth with 23 wins.

A native of Rochester, Minn., Jakaitis set three ECHL records during the course of the season as he posted four consecutive shutouts from March 7-20, went 321:46 without allowing a goal and won 16 consecutive decisions from Feb. 15-April 2.

Warrior Hockey ECHL Goaltender of the Year Award Winners

2015 Jeff Jakaitis South Carolina Stingrays
2014 Jeff Jakaitis South Carolina Stingrays
2013 Ryan Zapolski South Carolina Stingrays
2012 Jeff Jakaitis Gwinnett Gladiators
2011 Gerald Coleman Alaska Aces
2010 Todd Ford South Carolina Stingrays
2009 J.P. Lamoureux Alaska Aces
2008 Anton Khudobin Texas Wildcatters
2007 Adam Berkhoel Dayton Bombers
2006 Matt Underhill Alaska Aces
2005 Chris Madden Long Beach Ice Dogs/Florida Everblades
2004 Scott Stirling Atlantic City Boardwalk Bullies
2003 Alfie Michaud Peoria Rivermen
2002 Frederic Cloutier Louisiana IceGators
2001 Scott Stirling Trenton Titans
2000 Jan Lasak Hampton Roads Admirals
1999 Maxime Gingras Richmond Renegades
1998 Nick Vitucci Toledo Storm
1997 Marc Delorme Louisiana IceGators
1996 Alain Morissette Louisville RiverFrogs
1995 Chris Gordon Huntington Blizzard
1994 Cory Cadden Knoxville Cherokees