Missouri claims 2015-16 Brabham Cup title

The Missouri Mavericks clinched the 2015-16 Brabham Cup championship on Wednesday by virtue of their win over Evansville.

With the win, Missouri improved its record to 49-10-5 for 103 points, and its home record to 28-3-1. The Mavericks need 13 points over their final eight regular-season games to match the ECHL record of 116 points, set by the Louisiana IceGators in 2001-02. Missouri is also two home wins shy of matching the league record of 30 home wins in season, set by Louisiana in 2001-02 and tied by San Diego in 2003-04.

The Mavericks have posted a 38-point improvement over last season when they finished their first ECHL season with 65 points. That improvement has them just outside the top 10 for best single-season point increases in ECHL history. Toledo set the ECHL record last season with a 58-point improvement over the 2013-14 season on its way to capturing the 2014-15 Brabham Cup championship.

The Brabham Cup is the trophy awarded annually to the ECHL team that finishes with the most points in the regular season. The recipient is guaranteed home-ice advantage throughout its participation in the Kelly Cup Playoffs.

The award is named in recognition of Henry Brabham, who founded the ECHL in 1988-89 with five teams in four states. Brabham, who was the first inductee into the ECHL Hall of Fame in 2008, owned three of the original five teams. The dedication of the Virginia businessman was crucial to the league surviving to span from coast-to-coast while advancing over 590 players and countless coaches, on-ice officials and front office personnel to the National Hockey League.

Brabham Cup Champions

2016 Missouri Mavericks  
2015 Toledo Walleye
107 points
2014 Alaska Aces 97 points
2013 Alaska Aces 106 points
2012 Alaska Aces 97 points
2011 Alaska Aces 97 points
2010 Idaho Steelheads 103 points
2009 Florida Everblades 105 points
2008 Cincinnati Cyclones 115 points
2007 Las Vegas Wranglers 106 points
2006 Alaska Aces 113 points
2005 Pensacola Ice Pilots 107 points
2004 San Diego Gulls 108 points
2003 Toledo Storm 104 points
2002 Louisiana IceGators 116 points
2001 Trenton Titans 104 points
2000 Florida Everblades 108 points
1999 Pee Dee Pride 106 points
1998 Louisiana IceGators 96 points
1997 South Carolina Stingrays 100 points
1996 Richmond Renegades 105 points
1995 Wheeling Thunderbirds 97 points
1994 Knoxville Cherokees 94 points
1993 Wheeling Thunderbirds 88 points
1992 Toledo Storm 95 points
1991 Knoxville Cherokees 97 points
1990 Winston-Salem Thunderbirds 82 points
1989 Erie Panthers 77 points