Pierro-Zabotel named Sher-Wood Hockey ECHL Player of the Week

Gwinnett Gladiators’ forward Casey Pierro-Zabotel is the Sher-Wood Hockey ECHL Player of the Week for Jan. 19-25.


Pierro-Zabotel had five goals and added three assists for eight points in four games last week.


The 26-year-old had three assists in a 7-5 win against Florida on Friday, notched a hat trick – including the game-winning goal in overtime – in a 4-3 victory against the Everblades on Saturday and recorded a pair of goals in a 6-3 loss to Reading on Sunday.


A native of Ashcroft, British Columbia, Pierro-Zabotel is third in the ECHL with 45 points (18g-27a) in 36 games this season.


Selected by the Pittsburgh Penguins in the third round (80th overall) of the 2007 NHL Entry Draft, Pierro-Zabotel has 278 points (85g-193a) in 325 career ECHL games with Gwinnett, Bakersfield, Cincinnati and Wheeling.


On behalf of Casey Pierro-Zabotel, a case of pucks will be donated to a Gwinnett youth hockey organization by Sher-Wood Hockey, the exclusive puck supplier of the ECHL. Since beginning its sponsorship of the award in 2000-01, Sher-Wood Hockey has donated more than 31,000 pucks to youth hockey organizations in ECHL cities.


Runners Up: Chad Costello, Allen (4 gp, 3g, 6a, 9 pts.), Trent Daavettila, Colorado (3 gp, 2g, 4a 6 pts.) and Wade MacLeod, Idaho (3 gp, 4g, 4a, 8 pts.).


Also Nominated: Chris Francis (Alaska), Brendan Brooks (Bakersfield), Myles Bell (Evansville), Shawn Szydlowski (Fort Wayne), Kyle Stroh (Indy), Matt Caria (Kalamazoo), Josh Brittain (Missouri), Jacob Cepis (Orlando), Olivier Labelle (Reading), Nathan Walker (South Carolina), Justin Mercier (Toledo) and Michael Pelech (Utah).




Oct. 17-19 Riley Brace Wheeling Nailers
Oct. 20-26 Matthew Pistilli Fort Wayne Komets
Oct. 27-Nov. 2 Matt Tassone Elmira Jackals
Nov. 3-9 Mitchell Heard Fort Wayne Komets
Nov. 10-16 Corey Trivino Florida Everblades
Nov. 17-23 Jon Booras Tulsa Oilers
Nov. 24-30 Garrett Meurs Fort Wayne Komets
Dec. 1-7 Chad Costello Allen Americans
Dec. 8-14 Brock Nixon Colorado Eagles
Dec. 15-21 Shawn Szydlowski Fort Wayne Komets
Dec. 22-28 Thomas Frazee Fort Wayne Komets
Dec. 29-Jan. 4 Geoff Walker Ontario Reign
Jan. 5-11 Darryl Bootland Colorado Eagles
Jan. 12-18 Chris Kushneriuk Florida Everblades