Sebring receives ECHL Outstanding Media Award

The ECHL announced on Monday that Blake Sebring of
The News-Sentinel in Fort Wayne, Ind. has been selected as the 2014-15 recipient of the ECHL Outstanding Media Award.

The award is determined in a vote of league media members, media relations directors and broadcasters.

“Blake is a deserving recipient of this year’s ECHL Outstanding Media Award,” ECHL Commissioner Brian McKenna said. “He has covered the Komets for over 20 years, and fans have come to expect his top notch coverage on a daily basis throughout the season. He is certainly a very worthy winner.”

“Because this is voted upon by my peers and allows me to follow journalists like Pam Shebest, Dave Eminian, Doyle Woody and others I have so much respect for, this is a very meaningful and humbling day,” Sebring said.

Sebring has covered the Fort Wayne Komets for 23 seasons over 25 years, covering more than 1,400 games, and is one of only four men to ever cover the team for The News-Sentinel. Besides legendary sports editor Bud Gallmeier’s 35 years, no one in newspapers has covered the Komets longer.

He is also the author of five books, including “Tales of the Komets,” “Legends of the Komets”, “Live From Radio Rinkside: The Bob Chase Story” and “Fort Wayne Sports History.” Sebring was inducted into the Indiana Sportswriters and Sportscasters Hall of Fame in April.

ECHL Outstanding Media Award Winners

2015 Blake Sebring The News-Sentinel
2014 Doyle Woody Anchorage Daily News
2013 Andrew Miller
Post and Courier
2012 Christine Troyke
Gwinnett Daily Post
2011 Pam Shebest Kalamazoo Gazette
2010 Doyle Woody Anchorage Daily News
2009 Mike Griffith Bakersfield Californian
2008 Doyle Woody Anchorage Daily News
  Cleve Dheensaw Victoria Times-Colonist
2007 Scott Linesburgh The Stockton Record
2006 Matt Nevala Anchorage Daily News
2005 Mike Mastovich Johnstown Tribune-Democrat
2004 Len Bardsley The Times of Trenton
2003 Dave Eminian Peoria Journal Star