Szydlowski named Sher-Wood Hockey ECHL Player of the Week


Fort Wayne Komets’ forward Shawn Szydlowski is the Sher-Wood Hockey ECHL Player of the Week for March 16-22. It is the second time this season that he has won the weekly honor.


Szydlowski scored five goals, added five assists and was a +10 in four games last week.


The 24-year-old had two assists in both of Fort Wayne’s first two games last week – a 4-1 win at Indy on Wednesday and a 4-3 loss at Kalmazoo on Friday. In Saturday’s 6-4 win against Missouri, Szydlowski became just the 29th player in ECHL history to score at least five goals in a game, and tied the league record with three shorthanded goals. He ended the week with an assist in a 4-1 win against Missouri on Sunday.


A native of St. Clair Shores, Mich., Szydlowski is fifth in the league with 31 goals, and he has added 31 assists for a team-leading 62 points in 48 games this season. He has also seen action in 11 American Hockey League games with Lake Erie, Binghamton and Norfolk, recording one assist.


Szydlowski has tallied 91 points (43g48a) in 117 career ECHL games with Fort Wayne and Gwinnett and he has added nine assists in 73 career American Hockey League games with Portland, Rochester, Lake Erie, Binghamton and Norfolk.


Prior to turning pro, he tallied 197 points (94g-103a) in 258 career games with Erie of the Ontario Hockey League.


On behalf of Shawn Szydlowski, a case of pucks will be donated to a Fort Wayne youth hockey organization by Sher-Wood Hockey, the exclusive puck supplier of the ECHL. Since beginning its sponsorship of the award in 2000-01, Sher-Wood Hockey has donated more than 31,000 pucks to youth hockey organizations in ECHL cities.


Runners Up: Tyler Barnes, Toledo (5 gp, 6g, 3a, 9 pts.) and Danick Gauthier, Wichita (4 gp, 4g, 5a, 9 pts.).


Also Nominated: Gary Steffes (Allen), Colton Beck (Idaho), Ludwig Blomstrand (Kalamazoo), Maxim Kitsyn (Ontario), Ben Johnson (Orlando), Andrew Rowe (South Carolina), Brenden Walker (Utah) and Derek Army (Wheeling).



Oct. 17-19 Riley Brace Wheeling Nailers
Oct. 20-26 Matthew Pistilli Fort Wayne Komets
Oct. 27-Nov. 2 Matt Tassone Elmira Jackals
Nov. 3-9 Mitchell Heard Fort Wayne Komets
Nov. 10-16 Corey Trivino Florida Everblades
Nov. 17-23 Jon Booras Tulsa Oilers
Nov. 24-30 Garrett Meurs Fort Wayne Komets
Dec. 1-7 Chad Costello Allen Americans
Dec. 8-14 Brock Nixon Colorado Eagles
Dec. 15-21 Shawn Szydlowski Fort Wayne Komets
Dec. 22-28 Thomas Frazee Fort Wayne Komets
Dec. 29-Jan. 4 Geoff Walker Ontario Reign
Jan. 5-11 Darryl Bootland Colorado Eagles
Jan. 12-18 Chris Kushneriuk Florida Everblades
Jan. 19-25 Casey Pierro-Zabotel Gwinnett Gladiators
Jan. 26-Feb. 1 Jesse Schultz Rapid City Rush
Feb. 2-8 Derek DeBlois South Carolina Stingrays
Feb. 9-15 Chad Painchaud Brampton Beast
Feb. 16-22 Andrew Rowe South Carolina Stingrays
Feb. 23-March 1 Chad Costello Allen Americans
March 2-8 Brett Robinson Idaho Steelheads
March 9-15 David Rutherford Ontario Reign