Today In The ECHL – October 18

Cincinnati Cyclones (0-1-0) at Dayton Bombers (0-0-0) 7:00 ET / 6:00 CT

* Cincinnati is 16-5-2 all-time against Dayton in the regular season.
* Jamie Ling makes his coaching debut for Dayton after eight years as a player.
* Ryan Brindley had three assists in the Cyclones 4-3 loss to Peoria on Friday.
* Dayton was 15-17-4 at home and 3-3-4 in one-goal games at home in 2002-03.

Long Beach Ice Dogs (1-0-0) at Johnstown Chiefs (0-1-0) 7:00 ET / 6:00 CT

* National Hockey League All-Star goaltender Arturs Irbe will start tonight for Johnstown.
* Craig Lyons scored three points (2g-1a) in Long Beach’s 5-4 win at Roanoke on Friday.
* Chad Cavanagh scored the only goal in Johnstown’s 4-1 loss at Toledo on Friday.
* Long Beach stopped 7-of-8 power-play opportunities at Roanoke on Friday.

Texas Wildcatters (0-1-0) at Reading Royals (1-0-0) 7:05 ET / 6:05 CT

* First-ever meeting between Texas and Reading.
* Reading’s Jon Zion scored his second career hat trick in Friday’s 6-1 win at Trenton.
* Texas’ Steve Lowe scored two goals in Friday’s 7-3 loss at Atlantic City.
* Royals’ David Masse tallied three assists on Friday.

Trenton Titans (0-1-0) at Atlantic City Boardwalk Bullies (1-0-0) 7:05 ET / 6:05 CT

* Atlantic City is 10-8-2 all-time against Trenton in the regular season.
* David Rask scored Trenton’s lone goal in Friday’s 6-1 loss against Reading.
* First meeting since Atlantic City swept Trenton in 2003 Northeast Division Semifinals.
* Bullies’ Jim Henkel scored his second career hat trick in Friday’s 7-3 win against Texas.

Greenville Grrrowl (0-0-0) at South Carolina Stingrays (1-0-0) 7:30 ET / 6:30 CT

* South Carolina is 20-9-5 all-time against Greenville in the regular season.
* Matt Demarski, who led Greenville last season in goals (25) and points (63), returns for the Grrrowl.
* Kevin Spiewak scored two points (1g-1a) in South Carolina’s 3-2 win at Greensboro on Friday.
* Grrrowl’s John Marks, who is the only coach to lead two different teams to the ECHL title, returns.

Gwinnett Gladiators (0-0-0) at Charlotte Checkers (0-0-0) 7:30 ET / 6:30 CT

* First-ever meeting between Gwinnett and Charlotte.
* Charlotte ranked fourth in the ECHL averaging 3.64 goals per game in 2002-03.
* Gwinnett is relocation from Mobile.
* Checkers were 22-13-1 overall and 10-3-1 in one-goal games at home in 2002-03.

Columbia Inferno (1-0-0) at Florence Pride (0-1-0) 7:30 ET / 6:30 CT

* Columbia is 10-4-3 all-time against Florence in the regular season.
* Florence allowed three unanswered goals in Friday’s 3-1 loss at Columbia.
* Inferno’s Josh Blackburn stopped 28-of-29 shots in Friday’s win against Florence.
* Kyle Kidney scored the Pride’s lone goal on Friday.

Roanoke Express (0-1-0) at Wheeling Nailers (0-0-0) 7:30 ET / 6:30 CT

* Wheeling was 1-1-0 against Roanoke during the 2002-03 regular season.
* Roanoke stopped 7-of-7 power-play opportunities in Friday’s 5-4 loss to Long Beach.
* Nailers’ Jason Jaffray led ECHL rookies with 85 points (34g-51a) for Roanoke in 2002-03.
* Express’ Shawn Limpright scored a goal and tallied an assist in Friday’s loss.

Florida Everblades (1-0-0) at Augusta Lynx (0-1-0) 7:35 ET / 6:35 CT

* Florida is 24-7-5 all-time against Augusta in the regular season.
* Augusta lost its home opener 2-0 to Florida on Friday.
* Everblades’ Jeff Maund stopped all 29 shots faced to earn the shutout on Friday.
* Augusta was 0-4 on the power play in Friday’s loss.

Mississippi Sea Wolves (0-0-1) at Louisiana IceGators (1-0-0) 8:05 ET / 7:05 CT

* Louisiana is 29-18-9 all-time against Mississippi in the regular season.
* Mississippi’s Jeff Hutchins scored a power-play goal in Friday 3-2 shootout loss against Louisiana.
* IceGators’ Bobby Brown scored two goals in Friday’s win.
* Sea Wolves were 1-for-5 (20 percent) on the power play in Friday’s loss.

Columbus Cottonmouths (0-0-0) at Pensacola Ice Pilots (0-0-0) 8:05 ET / 7:05 CT

* Pensacola was 2-1-1 against Columbus in 2002-03.
* Brian Curran makes his coaching debut for Columbus tonight.
* Ice Pilots were 20-11-5 at home and 27-23-8 within their division in 2002-03.
* Cottonmouths were 9-24-3 on the road in 2002-03.

Toledo Storm (1-0-0) at Peoria Rivermen (1-0-0) 8:05 ET / 7:05 CT

* Peoria is 42-22-5 all-time against Toledo in the regular season.
* Morten Ask scored two goals in Toledo’s 4-1 win against Johnstown on Friday.
* Alex Kim scored two goals for the Rivermen in Friday’s 4-3 win at Cincinnati.
* Storm’s Doug Teskey stopped 30-of-31 shots in Friday win.

Las Vegas Wranglers (1-0-0) at Idaho Steelheads (0-1-0) 9:05 ET / 7:05 MT

* Las Vegas is 1-0-0 all-time against Idaho after a 5-3 win in its ECHL debut on Friday.
* Idaho was 2-for-6 (33.3 percent) on the power play in Friday’s loss.
* Wranglers’ Greg Day scored four points (2g-2a) in Friday’s win.
* Steelheads’ Ian Kopacky scored a goal and tallied an assist in Friday’s loss.

San Diego Gulls (0-0-0) at Bakersfield Condors (0-1-0) 10:00 ET / 7:00 PT

* Steve Martinson returns as coach of San Diego, having led them to five WCHL Championships.
* Bakersfield lost its home opener 3-0 against Fresno on Friday.
* Gulls led the WCHL in fewest goals allowed with 2.53 goals per game in 2002-03.
* Condors were 0-for-4 on the power play on Friday.