Toledo caps historic turnaround with Brabham Cup title


The Toledo Walleye clinched the 2014-15 Brabham Cup championship on Sunday by virtue of an 8-2 win over Kalamazoo.

Toledo’s regular-season championship ends the run of the Alaska Aces, who had captured the Brabham Cup in each of the last four seasons, setting an ECHL record.

The Walleye concluded the 2014-15 season 50-15-7 for 107 points, one season after finishing with 49 points. Toledo’s 58-point improvement over last season is the best single-season turnaround in ECHL history. Toledo is the first ECHL team to win at least 50 games in a season since the 2007-08 season when both Texas and Cincinnati reached the 50-win plateau.

It is the third time in Toledo’s ECHL history that the club has won the regular-season championship. The Toledo Storm captured Brabham Cup honors in 1991-92 and 2002-03.

The Brabham Cup is the trophy awarded annually to the ECHL team that finishes with the most points in the regular season. The recipient is guaranteed home-ice advantage throughout its participation in the Kelly Cup Playoffs.

The award is named in recognition of Henry Brabham, who founded the ECHL in 1988-89 with five teams in four states. Brabham, who was the first inductee into the ECHL Hall of Fame in 2008, owned three of the original five teams. The dedication of the Virginia businessman was crucial to the league surviving to span from coast-to-coast while advancing over 560 players and countless coaches, on-ice officials and front office personnel to the National Hockey League.

Brabham Cup Champions


2015 Toledo Walleye
107 points
2014 Alaska Aces 97 points
2013 Alaska Aces 106 points
2012 Alaska Aces 97 points

2011 Alaska Aces 97 points
2010 Idaho Steelheads 103 points
2009 Florida Everblades 105 points
2008 Cincinnati Cyclones 115 points
2007 Las Vegas Wranglers 106 points
2006 Alaska Aces 113 points
2005 Pensacola Ice Pilots 107 points
2004 San Diego Gulls 108 points
2003 Toledo Storm 104 points
2002 Louisiana IceGators 116 points
2001 Trenton Titans 104 points
2000 Florida Everblades 108 points
1999 Pee Dee Pride 106 points
1998 Louisiana IceGators 96 points
1997 South Carolina Stingrays 100 points
1996 Richmond Renegades 105 points
1995 Wheeling Thunderbirds 97 points
1994 Knoxville Cherokees 94 points
1993 Wheeling Thunderbirds 88 points
1992 Toledo Storm 95 points
1991 Knoxville Cherokees 97 points
1990 Winston-Salem Thunderbirds 82 points
1989 Erie Panthers 77 points