Toledo receives Team Award of Excellence

The ECHL announced on Monday that the Toledo Walleye have been selected as the 2014-15 recipient of the ECHL Team Award of Excellence. It marks the third time in the last six seasons that the Walleye have received the award.

The award recognizes the ECHL organization that executes a well-rounded business plan including, but not limited to, sales, marketing, media relations and merchandising while also distinguishing themselves in their community, on and off the ice.

The other finalists were the Gwinnett Gladiators and the Orlando Solar Bears.

Toledo set an all-time team record in attendance during the 2014-15 season with 231,847 fans during the regular season. The total included 12 sellouts, as well as over 22,000 fans at Winterfest, the first two outdoor games in ECHL history. Winterfest garnered local, regional and national media attention and attracted over 65,000 people to the Toledo Region over the 10-day event while creating an economic impact of over $10 million for Toledo and the surrounding area. The team provided over $240,000 in charitable contributions to more than 25 area organizations over the course of the season.

On the ice, the Walleye set an ECHL record with a 58-point improvement over the 2013-14 season, and captured the Brabham Cup as ECHL regular-season champions. Head coach Derek Lalonde received the John Brophy Award as ECHL Coach of the Year as Toledo reached the Conference Finals for the first time since the Storm did so in 2006.

ECHL Award of Excellence Winners

2015 Toledo Walleye
2014 Ontario Reign
2013 Orlando Solar Bears
2012 Toledo Walleye
2011 Bakersfield Condors
2010 Toledo Walleye
2009 Stockton Thunder
2008 Gwinnett Gladiators
2007 Stockton Thunder
2006 Alaska Aces
2005 Pensacola Ice Pilots
2004 Johnstown Chiefs
  Florida Everblades