Toledo’s Napoli named ECHL Executive of the Year


The ECHL on Tuesday announced that Toledo Walleye President Joe Napoli has been selected by the ECHL Board of Governors as the 2012-13 recipient of the ECHL Executive of the Year award.

Toledo set a new team record for attendance as 226,743 fans attended games at Huntington Center, ranking fourth in the ECHL with 6,298 per game. The Walleye welcomed nine sell-out crowds during the season and set a team record for group ticket sales while finishing second in the League in group revenue. Napoli also serves on multiple League committees and frequently works with colleagues to elevate the well-being of the ECHL.

In addition to serving as president of the Walleye, Napoli also is president of the Toledo Mud Hens professional baseball team. Before coming to Toledo, he worked for the Chicago Bulls of the National Basketball Association, the Detroit Tigers of Major League Baseball, the Canton-Akron Indians and Manufacturers Hanover Trust Company. A member of the development team for the Huntington Center, Napoli is responsible for the management and day-to-day operation of both the Walleye and Mud Hens. Born and raised in Brooklyn, N.Y., Napoli graduated Cum Laude from St. John’s University with a bachelor’s degree in management.

ECHL Executive Of The Year Winners

2013 Joe Napoli
Toledo Walleye
2012 Justin Kemp
Ontario Reign
2011 Dan Chapman Stockton Thunder
2010 Kristin Ropp Cincinnati Cyclones
2009 Gordon Kaye Reading Royals
2008 Darren Abbott South Carolina Stingrays
2007 Matt Riley Bakersfield Condors
2006 Steve Chapman Gwinnett Gladiators
2005 Steve Chapman Gwinnett Gladiators
2004 Terry Parks Alaska Aces
2003 John Butler Peoria Rivermen
2002 Matt Loughran Atlantic City Boardwalk Bullies
2001 Craig Brush Florida Everblades
2000 Brian McKenna Trenton Titans
1999 Carl Scheer Greenville Grrrowl
1998 Charles Felix Pensacola IcePilots
1997 David Paitson Columbus Chill
1996 Dave Berryman Louisiana IceGators
1995 Harry Feuerstein/Craig Laughlin Richmond Renegades
1994 John Gagnon/Pierre Paiement Roanoke Express
1993 Larry Kish Wheeling Thunderbirds