Walker named Sher-Wood Hockey ECHL Player of the Week

Geoff Walker of the Florida Everblades is the Sher-Wood Hockey ECHL Player of the Week for April 7-13.


Walker scored four goals, added two assists and was a +4 as the Everblades went 3-0-0 last week.


The 26-year-old scored had an assist in a 3-2 shootout win against Reading on Wednesday, notched a hat trick, including the game-winning goal, in a 3-2 victory over the Royals on Friday and picked up two points (1g-1a) in a 6-1 win against Greenville on Saturday.


A native of Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Walker tallied nine points (6g-3a) in six games with Florida this season and added eight points (6g-2a) in 43 games with Syracuse of the American Hockey League.


Under an NHL contract with Tampa Bay, Walker has 80 points (34g-46a) in 100 career ECHL games with Florida and Ontario and 116 points (45g-71a) in 269 career AHL games with Wilkes-Barre/Scranton, Lake Erie and Syracuse.


On behalf of Geoff Walker a case of pucks will be donated to a Florida youth hockey organization by Sher-Wood Hockey, the exclusive puck supplier of the ECHL. Since beginning its sponsorship of the award in 2000-01, Sher-Wood Hockey has donated more than 29,000 pucks to youth hockey organizations in ECHL cities.


Runners Up: Casey Pierro-Zabotel, Gwinnett (2 gp, 2g, 3a, 5 pts.), and Derek Army, Wheeling (2 gp, 3g, 1a, 4 pts.).


Also Nominated: Jordan Knackstedt (Bakersfield), Christian Ouellet (Fort Wayne), Jason Bast (Idaho), Matt Caria (Kalamazoo), Chris Kushneriuk (Las Vegas), Rocco Carzo (Ontario), Wayne Simpson (South Carolina), Jeremy Langlois (Stockton) and Maxim Shalunov (Toledo).



Oct. 18-20 Jamie MacQueen Utah Grizzlies
Oct. 21-27 Anthony Nigro Idaho Steelheads
Oct. 28-Nov. 3 Wade Megan Cincinnati Cyclones
Nov. 4-10 Marc Hagel South Carolina Stingrays
Nov. 11-17 Dan DaSilva Ontario Reign
Nov. 18-24 Zack Torquato Wheeling Nailers
Nov. 25-Dec. 1 Kyle Kraemer Ontario Reign
Dec. 2-8 Andrew Cherniwchan South Carolina Stingrays
Dec. 9-15 Andrew Clark Stockton Thunder
Dec. 16-22 Trent Daavettila Colorado Eagles
Dec. 23-29 Tom Zanoski Evansville IceMen
Dec. 30-Jan. 5 Mike Ullrich Orlando Solar Bears
Jan. 6-12 Sean Wiles Reading Royals
Jan. 13-19 Joel Broda Bakersfield Condors
Jan. 20-26 Cody Sylvester Wheeling Nailers
Jan. 27-Feb. 2 Mike Vaskivuo Elmira Jackals
Feb. 3-9 Nick Mazzolini Alaska Aces
Feb. 10-16 Mickey Lang Orlando Solar Bears
Feb. 17-23 Taylor Matson Orlando Solar Bears
Feb. 24-March 2 Joey Haddad Gwinnett Gladiators
March 3-9 Adam Hughesman Las Vegas Wranglers
March 10-16 Cody Sylvester Wheeling Nailers
March 17-23 Brian Nugent Cincinnati Cyclones
March 24-30 Aaron Clarke Fort Wayne Komets
March 31-April 6 Chase Schaber Bakersfield Condors