Zanoski named Sher-Wood Hockey ECHL Player of the Week


Tom Zanoski of the Evansville IceMen is the Sher-Wood Hockey ECHL Player of the Week for Dec. 23-29.


Zanoski scored four goals, assisted on two others as Evansville went 1-0-1 during the week.


The 29-year-old had one goal and two assists in a 7-6 overtime loss againt Cincinnati on Friday before notching a natural hat trick, scoring the first three goals of the game, in the IceMen’s 5-2 victory over Fort Wayne on Saturday.


A native of Brampton, Ontario, Zanoski has 19 points (9g-10a) in just 14 games with Evansville this season.


Zanoski has 121 points (60g-61a) in 148 career ECHL games with Evansville, Gwinnett, Dayton and Stockton and he has added nine points (3g-6a) in nine career games in the Kelly Cup Playoffs. He has also appeared in 44 career games in the American Hockey League with Lake Erie, Syracuse, Toronto, Albany and Binghamton where he has tallied 12 points (4g-8a).


On behalf of Tom Zanoski, a case of pucks will be donated to an Evansville youth hockey organization by Sher-Wood Hockey, the exclusive puck supplier of the ECHL. Since beginning its sponsorship of the award in 2000-01, Sher-Wood Hockey has donated more than 29,000 pucks to youth hockey organizations in ECHL cities.


Runners Up: Yanni Gourde, Kalamazoo (2 gp, 3g, 2a, 5 pts.) and Adrian Foster, San Francisco (3 gp, 2g, 6a, 8 pts.)


Also Nominated: Joel Broda (Bakersfield), Trevor Lewis (Cincinnati), Brandon Marino (Fort Wayne), Justin Vaive (Greenville), Antonie Corbin (Gwinnett), Mitch Wahl (Idaho), Matt Register (Ontario), Peter Boyd (South Carolina), Greg Miller (Stockton), David Gilbert (Toledo) and David Vallorani (Utah).




Oct. 18-20 Jamie MacQueen Utah Grizzlies
Oct. 21-27 Anthony Nigro Idaho Steelheads
Oct. 28-Nov. 3 Wade Megan Cincinnati Cyclones
Nov. 4-10 Marc Hagel South Carolina Stingrays
Nov. 11-17 Dan DaSilva Ontario Reign
Nov. 18-24 Zack Torquato Wheeling Nailers
Nov. 25-Dec. 1 Kyle Kraemer Ontario Reign
Dec. 2-8 Andrew Cherniwchan South Carolina Stingrays
Dec. 9-15 Andrew Clark Stockton Thunder
Dec. 16-22 Trent Daavettila Colorado Eagles