Zapolski named Reebok Hockey ECHL Goaltender of the Year

PRINCETON, N.J. – The ECHL on Thursday announced that
Ryan Zapolski of the South Carolina Stingrays is the recipient of the Reebok Hockey ECHL Goaltender of the Year award for 2012-13.

The Reebok Hockey Goaltender of the Year award is presented annually to the goaltender selected to be the best at his position as determined in a vote of ECHL coaches, broadcasters, media relations directors and media members.

Mark Guggenberger of Alaska finished second, followed by Idaho’s Josh Robinson, Joel Martin of Kalamazoo and Gwinnett’s Mike Lee.

The winner of the CCM Most Valuable Player award will be announced on Friday.

Zapolski, who was named to the ECHL All-Rookie Team and All-ECHL First Team last week, and on Monday was named the Rookie of the Year, is the first rookie to be named the Goaltender of the Year since Alaska’s Jean-Philippe Lamoureux in 2008-09. He joins Louisiana’s Frederic Cloutier (2001-02), Trenton’s Scott Stirling (2000-01), Hampton Roads’ Jan Lasak (1999-00) and Richmond’s Maxime Gingras (1998-99) as winners of both the Rookie of the Year and Goaltender of the Year in the same season.

The 26-year-old led the ECHL with a 1.64 goals-against average, a .942 save percentage and eight shutouts, while finishing tied for second with 27 wins and fifth with 2,378 minutes played. He set a new ECHL single-season record for lowest goals-against average, while tying the mark for most shutouts in a season and tying the second best save percentage in league history. Zapolski also earned Most Valuable Player honors at the 2013 ECHL All-Star Game, stopping all 17 shots he faced in the second period of the ECHL All-Star 7-3 win against Colorado.

Reebok Hockey ECHL Goaltender of the Year Award Winners

2013 Ryan Zapolski South Carolina Stingrays
2012 Jeff Jakaitis Gwinnett Gladiators
2011 Gerald Coleman Alaska Aces
2010 Todd Ford South Carolina Stingrays
2009 J.P. Lamoureux Alaska Aces
2008 Anton Khudobin Texas Wildcatters
2007 Adam Berkhoel Dayton Bombers
2006 Matt Underhill Alaska Aces
2005 Chris Madden Long Beach Ice Dogs/Florida Everblades
2004 Scott Stirling Atlantic City Boardwalk Bullies
2003 Alfie Michaud Peoria Rivermen
2002 Frederic Cloutier Louisiana IceGators
2001 Scott Stirling Trenton Titans
2000 Jan Lasak Hampton Roads Admirals
1999 Maxime Gingras Richmond Renegades
1998 Nick Vitucci Toledo Storm
1997 Marc Delorme Louisiana IceGators
1996 Alain Morissette Louisville RiverFrogs
1995 Chris Gordon Huntington Blizzard
1994 Cory Cadden Knoxville Cherokees