Aces’ Gomez Named CCM TACKS
Most Valuable Player

Teammate Minard Finishes Second In Voting

PRINCETON, N.J. – The ECHL announced on Wednesday that Alaska left wing Scott Gomez has been named the 2004-05 CCM TACKS Most Valuable Player, finishing ahead of teammate Chris Minard in the voting of ECHL coaches. Gomez and Minard were both named First Team All-ECHL by league coaches.

Playing in his hometown of Anchorage during the National Hockey League lockout, Gomez led the ECHL with 86 points and 73 assists in 61 games while Minard led the league with 49 goals and finished fourth overall with 78 points in 69 games.

Pensacola goaltender Frederic Cloutier (48 gp, 32-12-3, 2.37 GAA, .928 save pct.) and Idaho rookie goaltender Frank Doyle (52 gp, 32-13-4, 2.16 GAA, .916 save pct.) tied for third while Toledo’s Carl Mallette (64 gp, 30g, 50a, 80 pts) finished fifth.

Gomez had 26 multiple-point games, including the last five games he played in the regular season, and he tied the team record for points in a game with five points on January 5 and 8. He had 22 multiple-assist games, including five assists on January 5 and January 8, setting a team record and tying the ECHL season high for assists in a game.

Gomez helped Alaska finish first in the West Division and first in the National Conference at 45-19-8. The Aces set team records for wins (45), points (98), road wins (23), consecutive wins (6) and consecutive road wins (5) while tying the team record for home wins (22) and consecutive home wins (4).

Gomez had scored four points (1g-3a) in the Kelly Cup Playoffs before leaving Game 4 of the West Division Semifinals with an injury. Alaska defeated Bakersfield 6-2 on Monday in Game 5 to advance to the West Division Finals for the second consecutive season. The Aces will open their best-of-five series at Long Beach on Friday.

CCM TACKS Most Valuable Player Award Winners
2004-05 Scott Gomez, Alaska Aces
2003-04 Scott Stirling, Atlantic City Boardwalk Bullies
2002-03 Buddy Smith, Arkansas RiverBlades
2001-02 Frederic Cloutier, Louisiana IceGators
2000-01 Scott King, Charlotte Checkers
1999-00 Andrew Williamson, Toledo Storm
1998-99 Chris Valicevic, Louisiana IceGators
1997-98 Jamey Hicks, Birmingham Bulls
1996-97 Mike Ross, South Carolina Stingrays
1995-96 Hugo Belanger, Nashville Knights
1994-95 Vadim Slivchenko, Wheeling Thunderbirds
1993-94 Joe Flanagan, Birmingham Bulls
1992-93 Trevor Jobe, Nashville Knights
1991-92 Phil Berger, Greensboro Monarchs
1990-91 Stan Drulia, Knoxville Cherokees
1989-90 Bill McDougall, Erie Panthers
1988-89 Daryl Harpe, Erie Panthers