Adirondack’s Close named ECHL Broadcaster of the Year

The ECHL announced on Friday that Cameron Close of the Adirondack Thunder is the 2016-17 recipient of the ECHL Broadcaster of the Year award as determined in voting by league media relations directors and broadcasters.


The other finalists were Kevin McGlue of the Colorado Eagles, Alex Reed of the Florida Everblades, Brian McCormack of the Idaho Steelheads and Joe Roberts of the Kalamazoo Wings.


Close joined the American Hockey League’s Adirondack Flames in 2014-15 following his graduation from the University of New Hampshire, and just completed his second season with the Thunder. He was selected to serve as the broadcaster for the 2017 CCM/ECHL All-Star Classic hosted by Adirondack in January, and broadcast live nationally on NHL Network. In addition to serving as the team’s broadcaster, Close also is the Thunder’s Director of Corporate Sales and handles all of the team’s travel services. While at New Hampshire, he served as the play-by-play broadcaster for three years for the WUNH, the school’s student station.


ECHL Broadcaster Award Winners
2016-17      Cameron Close, Adirondack Thunder
2015-16      Tommy Daniels, Allen Americans
2014-15      Will Hoenike, Idaho Steelheads
2013-14      Bob Chase, Fort Wayne Komets
2012-13      Joseph Zakrzewski, South Carolina Stingrays
2011-12      Bob Mills, Chicago Express
2010-11      Josh Bogorad, Alaska Aces
2009-10      Doug Plagens, Idaho Steelheads
2008-09      Josh Heller, South Carolina Stingrays
2007-08      Joe Babik, Fresno Falcons and Brendan Burke, Wheeling Nailers
2006-07      Kevin Reiter, Florida Everblades and Joe O’Donnell, Idaho Steelheads
2005-06      Dan Weiss, Phoenix RoadRunners
2004-05      John Michael, Johnstown Chiefs
2003-04      Jack Michaels, Alaska Aces
2002-03      Darren Abbott, South Carolina Stingrays
2001-02      Joe Zydlo, Trenton Titans