AHL Champions Have ECHL Coach,
Eight Players

ECHL Referees Work Every Game Of Calder Cup Finals

PRINCETON, N.J. – For the 16th consecutive season, an ECHL player is a member of the American Hockey League’s Calder Cup Champion. In addition to assistant coach Kjell Samuelsson, who was an assistant coach with Trenton in 1999-00, the Philadelphia Phantoms roster had eight players with ECHL experience. Philadelphia completed a four-game sweep of the Calder Cup Finals with a 5-2 win over the Chicago Wolves on Friday.

Philadelphia players with ECHL experience are Boyd Kane (Charlotte, 1998-2001), Josh Gratton (San Diego, 2003-04 and Trenton, 2004-05), Ben Stafford (Trenton, 2001-02), Todd Fedoruk (Trenton, 1999-00), Mark Murphy (Trenton, 1999-00), David Printz (Trenton, 2004-05), Neil Little (Johnstown, 1994-95), and Riley Cote (Dayton, 2003-04). Samuelsson, who joined the Phantoms as an assistant coach in 2000-01, began his coaching career in the ECHL in 1999-2000 as an assistant coach with Trenton after retiring from a 14-season playing career in the National Hockey League.

Chicago players with ECHL experience are Cory Larose (Jackson, 2000-01), Joe Corvo (Hampton Roads, 1998-99), Brian Sipotz (Gwinnett, 2004-05), and Michael Garnett (Greenville, 2002-03 and Gwinnett, 2003-04).

When the Calder Cup Playoffs began, the ECHL was represented by 115 players and each of the 16 teams had at least three ECHL players on their rosters. The Manchester Monarchs had the most ECHL players with 11 as well as being coached by Bruce Boudreau, who won the Kelly Cup with Mississippi in 1999.

ECHL referees Chris Ciamaga, Ryan Fraser and Terry Koharski were all chosen to work the 2005 Calder Cup Playoffs. Ciamaga, Fraser and Koharski also worked the 2005 Kelly Cup Playoffs for the ECHL. In addition to Ciamaga, Fraser and Koharski, ECHL linesmen Paul Nicolls and Aaron Lundbohm worked Games 3 and 4 of the Calder Cup Finals while Brian Pancich worked Games 1 and 2. Former ECHL referees worked all four games of the Calder Cup Finals with Wes McCauley (Games 1 and 4), Dan O’Rourke (Game 2) and Jeff Smith (Game 3).