Alaska claims 2014 Kelly Cup title

CINCINNATI, Ohio – The Alaska Aces defeated the Cincinnati Cyclones 4-0 on Monday at U.S. Bank Arena to claim the 2014 ECHL Kelly Cup championship 4 games to 2.

The title is Alaska’s third Kelly Cup championship, following titles in 2006 and 2011. The Aces join South Carolina (1997, 2001 and 2009) as the only three-time Kelly Cup champions in League history. Hampton Roads also has three ECHL titles, winning Riley Cup titles in 1991 and 1992 and the Kelly Cup in 1998.

Nick Mazzolini scored the only goal Alaska needed, his 11th of the postseason, on the power play with just 23 seconds remaining in the first period. Drew MacKenzie added a power-play marker of his own at 17:09 of the second period to make it 2-0. Alex Belzile and Turner Elson added third-period goals to set the final.

Gerald Coleman stopped all 23 shots he faced to record his second shutout of the Finals series. The win was Coleman’s eighth career win in the Kelly Cup Finals, tying Nick Vitucci’s record for most career wins in the Riley/Kelly Cup Finals.

Cincinnati goaltender Rob Madore was named Most Valuable Player of the 2014 Kelly Cup Playoffs, becoming the first player from the losing team to win the award in the ECHL’s 26-year history. Madore played every second for the Cyclones in the playoffs, posting a 14-10 record with a 2.29 goals-against average and a .930 save percentage. Madore led all goaltenders in the postseason in games played (24), wins (14), minutes played (1,493) and saves (756).