Alaska’s Gomez Wins
ECHL Scoring Title

PRINCETON, N.J. – The ECHL announced on Wednesday that Alaska left wing Scott Gomez is the recipient of the Leading Scorer Award.

Playing in his hometown of Anchorage during the National Hockey League lockout, Gomez led the league with 86 points and 73 assists in 61 games. Carl Mallette of Toledo had 80 points (30g-50a) in 64 games tying him for second with Jamie Johnson of Augusta, who scored 80 points (22g-58a) in 72 games. Chris Minard of Alaska was fourth with 78 points (49g-29a) in 69 games.

Gomez had 26 multiple-point games, including the last five games he played in the regular season, and he tied the team record for points in a game with five points on January 5 and 8. He had 22 multiple-assist games, including five assists on January 5 and January 8, setting a team record and tying the ECHL season high for assists in a game.

Gomez helped Alaska finish first in the West Division and first in the National Conference at 45-19-8. The Aces set team records for wins (45), points (98), road wins (23), consecutive wins (6) and consecutive road wins (5) while tying the team record for home wins (22) and consecutive home wins (4).

Gomez scored a goal and had an assist as Alaska opened the 2005 Kelly Cup Playoffs on Tuesday with a 5-2 win over Bakersfield in the first game of the best-of-five West Division Semifinals.

The ECHL will announce the Defenseman of the Year on Thursday.

ECHL Leading Scorer Award Winners

2004-05 Scott Gomez, Alaska Aces 86 points
2003-04 Tim Smith, Columbia Inferno 95 points
2002-03 Buddy Smith, Arkansas RiverBlades 104 points
2001-02 Louis Dumont, Pensacola Ice Pilots 102 points
2000-01 Scott King, Charlotte Checkers 101 points
1999-00 John Spoltore, Louisiana IceGators 119 points
1998-99 John Spoltore, Louisiana IceGators 109 points
1997-98 Jamey Hicks, Birmingham Bulls 119 points
1996-97 Ed Courtenay, South Carolina Stingrays 110 points
1995-96 Hugo Belanger, Nashville Knights 144 points
1994-95 Scott Burfoot, Erie Panthers 97 points
1993-94 Phil Berger, Greensboro Monarchs 139 points
1992-93 Trevor Jobe, Nashville Knights 161 points
1991-92 Phil Berger, Greensboro Monarchs 130 points
1990-91 Stan Drulia, Knoxville Cherokees 140 points
1989-90 Bill McDougall, Erie Panthers 148 points
1988-89 Daryl Harpe, Erie Panthers 122 points