Alignment, Playoff format announced for 2015-16 Season


The ECHL announced on Tuesday the Divisional alignment for the 2015-16 season, as well as the format for the 2016 Kelly Cup Playoffs, following the announcement last week of the League Membership.

As approved by the Board of Governors, the Conference and Divisional alignment for the 2015-16 Season will be as follows:


Eastern Conference

North Division
Brampton Beast, Kalamazoo Wings, Toledo Walleye, Wheeling Nailers

East Division
Adirondack, Elmira Jackals, Manchester, Norfolk, Reading Royals

South Division
Florida Everblades, Greenville Road Warriors, Gwinnett Gladiators, Orlando Solar Bears, South Carolina Stingrays

Western Conference

Midwest Division
Cincinnati Cyclones, Evansville IceMen, Fort Wayne Komets, Indy Fuel, Quad City Mallards

Central Division
Allen Americans, Missouri Mavericks, Tulsa Oilers, Wichita Thunder

West Division
Alaska Aces, Colorado Eagles, Idaho Steelheads, Rapid City Rush, Utah Grizzlies

The division winners will be seeded 1, 2 and 3 and the next five highest point totals in each conference will qualify for the 2016 Kelly Cup Playoffs. All series in the playoffs will be played in a best-of-seven format with the conference champions meeting in the Kelly Cup Finals to determine a national champion.

Watch ECHL Week‘s video breakdown of the new alignment HERE.


About the ECHL

Began in 1988-89 with five teams in four states, the ECHL has grown into a coast-to-coast league with 28 teams in 20 states and one Canadian province for its 27th season in 2014-15. There have been 555 players who have gone on to play in the National Hockey League after starting their careers in the ECHL, including 14 who made their NHL debuts in the 2013-14 season. The ECHL has affiliations with 29 of the 30 NHL teams in 2014-15, marking the 18th consecutive season that the league had affiliations with at least 20 teams in the NHL. Further information on the ECHL is available on its website at as well as on Facebook and Twitter.