Allen claims Bruce Taylor Trophy as Western Conference champions

The Allen Americans defeated the Ontario Reign 3-1 on Wednesday in Game 7 of the Western Conference Finals to advance to the 2015 Kelly Cup Finals.

Allen becomes just the fifth team in ECHL postseason history to win a series after trailing 3 games to 1. The Americans advance to the Kelly Cup Finals in their first ECHL season, becoming the first expansion team to reach the Finals since Idaho in 2004.

For winning the Western Conference championship, Allen receives the Bruce Taylor Trophy. The trophy is named in recognition of Bruce Taylor, who was the founding father of the West Coast Hockey League. In the early 1990s, Taylor purchased teams in Fresno, Reno and Bakersfield and in 1995 joined them with teams in Anchorage, Fairbanks and San Diego to form the West Coast Hockey League. The Taylor Cup was presented to the playoff champion in the WCHL from the league’s inaugural season in 1995-96 until the league ceased operations following the 2002-03 season. Taylor’s ownership in hockey began in 1983 with the purchase of the Burnaby Bluehawks of the British Columbia Junior Hockey League and continued with the purchase of the Richmond Sockeyes in the BCJHL and the New Westminster Royals in the BCJHL.

Bruce Taylor Trophy Champions

2015 Allen Americans
2014Alaska Aces
2013Stockton Thunder
2012Las Vegas Wranglers
2011Alaska Aces
2010Idaho Steelheads
2009Alaska Aces
2008Las Vegas Wranglers
2007Idaho Steelheads
2006Alaska Aces
2005Trenton Titans
2004Idaho Steelheads
2003Columbia Inferno
2002Greenville Grrrowl
2001South Carolina Stingrays
2000Louisiana IceGators
1999Mississippi Sea Wolves
1998Pensacola Ice Pilots