Allen’s Costello named 2016-17 CCM/ECHL Most Valuable Player

The ECHL on Friday announced that Chad Costello of the Allen Americans has been selected as the CCM Hockey ECHL Most Valuable Player for 2016-17.


The CCM Hockey Most Valuable Player award is presented annually to the player selected to be the most valuable to his team as determined in a vote of ECHL coaches, broadcasters, media relations directors and media members. 


It is the third time that Costello has received the Most Valuable Player award, as he also received the honor last season and in 2011-12 while playing for Colorado. He is the only player in the ECHL’s 29-year history to capture multiple MVP awards.


Casey Pierro-Zabotel of Colorado finished second, followed by Colorado’s Matt Garbowsky, Brendan O’Donnell of Florida and Alaska’s Stephen Perfetto


Costello, who was named to the All-ECHL First Team last week, led the league in scoring for the third consecutive season with 122 points (33g-89a) in 72 games. He is one of just eight players in league history to record multiple 100-point seasons and one of just four to do so in consecutive seasons. Costello also led the league in 2016-17 with 89 assists, 40 power-play assists and 49 power-play points. His 89 assists rank as the fourth most in a single season in ECHL history.


Costello has tallied 489 points (146g-343a) in 309 career ECHL games with Allen, Ontario, Colorado and Texas. His 343 assists rank 18th all-time in league history.


CCM Hockey ECHL Most Valuable Player Award Winners
2016-17     Chad Costello, Allen Americans
2015-16     Chad Costello, Allen Americans
2014-15     Jeff Jakaitis, South Carolina Stingrays
2013-14     Mickey Lang, Orlando Solar Bears
2012-13     Ryan Zapolski, South Carolina Stingrays
2011-12     Chad Costello, Colorado Eagles
2010-11     Wes Goldie, Alaska Aces
2009-10     Tyler Donati, Elmira Jackals
2008-09     Kevin Baker, Florida Everblades
2007-08     David Desharnais, Cincinnati Cyclones
2006-07     Brad Schell, Gwinnett Gladiators
2005-06     Jeff Campbell, Gwinnett Gladiators
2004-05     Scott Gomez, Alaska Aces
2003-04     Scott Stirling, Atlantic City Boardwalk Bullies
2002-03     Buddy Smith, Arkansas RiverBlades
2001-02     Frederic Cloutier, Louisiana IceGators
2000-01     Scott King, Charlotte Checkers
1999-00     Andrew Williamson, Toledo Storm
1998-99     Chris Valicevic, Louisiana IceGators
1997-98     Jamey Hicks, Birmingham Bulls
1996-97     Mike Ross, South Carolina Stingrays
1995-96     Hugo Belanger, Nashville Knights
1994-95     Vadim Slivchenko, Wheeling Thunderbirds
1993-94     Joe Flanagan, Birmingham Bulls
1992-93     Trevor Jobe, Nashville Knights
1991-92     Phil Berger, Greensboro Monarchs
1990-91     Stan Drulia, Knoxville Cherokees
1989-90     Bill McDougall, Erie Panthers
1988-89     Daryl Harpe, Erie Panthers