Allen’s Gill named 2016-17 Warrior Hockey/ECHL Goaltender of the Year

The ECHL on Thursday announced that Riley Gill of the Allen Americans is the recipient of the Warrior Hockey ECHL Goaltender of the Year award for 2016-17. 


The Warrior Hockey Goaltender of the Year award is presented annually to the goaltender selected to be the best at his position as determined in a vote of ECHL coaches, broadcasters, media relations directors and media members. 


Jake Paterson of Toledo finished second, followed by Colorado’s Clarke Saunders, Landon Bow of Idaho and Cincinnati’s Michael Houser


The winner of the CCM Most Valuable Player award will be announced on Friday. 


Gill, who was named to the All-ECHL First Team last week, led the league with a .935 save percentage and was second with 32 wins and a 2.22 goals-against average. His seven shutouts were tied for the league lead, and are tied for the second most by a goaltender in a single-season in the ECHL’s 29-year history.


A native of Northfield, Minn., Gill ranks eighth in ECHL history with 145 career wins and his 21 career shutouts are third all-time.


Gill is a three-time Kelly Cup champion, capturing titles with Reading in 2013 and Allen in 2015 and 2016. He is the ECHL all-time leader in career postseason wins with 48 and he is tied for the all-time lead with 80 career postseason appearances. His 11 wins in the Kelly Cup Finals also are the most all-time among league goaltenders.


Warrior Hockey ECHL Goaltender of the Year Award Winners
2016-17      Riley Gill, Allen Americans
2015-16      Josh Robinson, Missouri Mavericks
2014-15     Jeff Jakaitis, South Carolina Stingrays
2013-14     Jeff Jakaitis, South Carolina Stingrays
2012-13     Ryan Zapolski, South Carolina Stingrays
2011-12     Jeff Jakaitis, Gwinnett Gladiators
2010-11     Gerald Coleman, Alaska Aces
2009-10     Todd Ford, South Carolina Stingrays
2008-09     Jean-Philippe Lamoureux, Alaska Aces
2007-08     Anton Khudobin, Texas Wildcatters
2006-07     Adam Berkhoel, Dayton Bombers
2005-06     Matt Underhill, Alaska Aces
2004-05     Chris Madden, Florida Everblades/Long Beach Ice Dogs
2003-04     Scott Stirling, Atlantic City Boardwalk Bullies
2002-03     Alfie Michaud, Peoria Rivermen
2001-02     Frederic Cloutier, Louisiana IceGators
2000-01     Scott Stirling, Trenton Titans
1999-00     Jan Lasak, Hampton Roads Admirals
1998-99     Maxime Gingras, Richmond Renegades
1997-98     Nick Vitucci, Toledo Storm
1996-97     Marc Delorme, Louisiana IceGators
1995-96     Alain Morissette, Louisville RiverFrogs
1994-95     Chris Gordon, Huntington Blizzard
1993-94     Cory Cadden, Knoxville Cherokees