Atlanta receives 2016-17 ECHL Website Award of Excellence

The ECHL announced on Wednesday that the Atlanta Gladiators ( are the 2016-17 recipient of the Website Award of Excellence.


The other finalists were the Orlando Solar Bears (, Quad City Mallards (, South Carolina Stingrays ( and Utah Grizzlies (


The websites were reviewed by the staff of HockeyTech and were judged on criteria including design, mobile readiness organization, site flow, update frequency and performance.


“The Atlanta Gladiators site makes excellent use of space, and has a pleasant design and user interface,” said HockeyTech’s Dave DesRoches. “Community engagement and fan-centric elements are front and center, as are links to download the mobile app, social media and schedule, ticket and broadcast information. The site uses texture impressively, and while advertisers are present throughout, they are not overpowering, and do not distract from the main content (which is frequently updated in-season).  The Atlanta Gladiators have a site that could rival any pro-level team’s online space.”


The Gladiators’ website is designed and managed by Senior Director of Digital, Media and Game Operations Christina Johnson and is hosted by Infinity Sports & Entertainment.


ECHL Website Award Winners
2016-17     Atlanta Gladiators
2015-16     Greenville Swamp Rabbits
2014-15     Allen Americans
2013-14     Fort Wayne Komets
2012-13     Las Vegas Wranglers
2011-12     Idaho Steelheads
2010-11     Idaho Steelheads
2009-10     Ontario Reign
2008-09     Alaska Aces
2007-08     Bakersfield Condors and Gwinnett Gladiators
2006-07     Wheeling Nailers and Idaho Steelheads
2005-06     Phoenix RoadRunners
2004-05     Bakersfield Condors