B2 Networks Broadcasts
11 ECHL Preseason Contests

PRINCETON, N.J. – The ECHL announced that 11 preseason games will be broadcast live on B2 Networks, the “Official Broadband Broadcast Provider of the ECHL.”

The preseason schedule opens with South Carolina at Alaska on Wednesday and continues Thursday with South Carolina at Alaska, Reading at Elmira and Fresno at Stockton. Games scheduled for Friday are Gwinnett at Augusta, Trenton at Elmira, Phoenix at Florida and Johnstown at Wheeling while Saturday features Mississippi at Augusta, Trenton at Elmira and Phoenix at Florida.

Fans can make sure that they don’t miss a single minute of watching their favorite team live by purchasing a Power-Play Season Pass for only $160 at ECHL.com or B2LiveTV.com.

Games are broadcast using the B2 Triangulation Interactive Player which provides viewers a more complete and interactive viewing experience. In order to utilize the technology, fans will need Microsoft Internet Explorer 6 or higher, a current version of Microsoft Windows Media Player 11 and a high-speed internet connection.

B2 Networks has broadcast ECHL games around the globe for each of the last five years including the Kelly Cup Finals and the ECHL All-Star Game. The first hockey game broadcast by B2 Networks was the Las Vegas Wranglers in February 2004 and the first hockey championship carried by B2 Networks was the 2004 Kelly Cup Playoffs.

B2 Networks Preseason Broadcast Schedule (Start Times are Local)

Wednesday, Oct. 8
South Carolina at Alaska, 7:15 p.m. at Sullivan Arena

Thursday, Oct. 9
South Carolina at Alaska, 7:15 p.m. at Sullivan Arena
Reading at Elmira, 7:05 p.m. at First Arena
Fresno at Stockton at 7 p.m. at Stockton Arena

Friday, Oct. 10
Gwinnett at Augusta, 7:30 p.m. at James Brown Arena
Trenton at Elmira, 7:35 p.m. at First Arena
Phoenix at Florida, 7:30 p.m. at Germain Arena
Johnstown at Wheeling, 7:35 p.m. at WesBanco Arena

Saturday, Oct. 11
Mississippi at Augusta, 7 p.m. at James Brown Arena
Trenton at Elmira, 7:35 p.m. at First Arena
Phoenix at Florida, 7:30 p.m. at Germain Arena

B2 Networks
B2 Networks is a premier provider of reliable and secure international television and pay-per-view broadcasting systems. B2’s worldwide network of arenas, stadiums, local venues and data centers are currently in use to distribute live sports and events to personal computers, television screens, mobile devices and commercial venues around the world. Working with organizations such as the ECHL, National Lacrosse League, the International Hockey League, the United States Hockey League, the North American Hockey League, Arena Football Leagues and selected NCAA and NAIA conferences and member institutions, B2 Networks has established itself as a leader in innovative global direct to home, mobile and television broadcasting. For the B2 Networks’ Programming Guide visit B2TV.com or for information about B2 Networks, visit B2Now.com.

The ECHL celebrated its 20th Anniversary in 2007-08 and is the third-longest tenured professional hockey league behind only the National Hockey League and the American Hockey League. ECHL began in 1988-89 with five teams in four states and has grown to be a coast-to-coast league with 23 teams playing 828 games in 16 states and British Columbia in 2008-09.

The league officially changed its name to ECHL on May 19, 2003.

The ECHL has affiliations with 26 of the 30 teams in the NHL, marking the 12th consecutive season that the league has had affiliations with at least 20 teams in the NHL.

There have been 356 former ECHL players who have gone on to play in the NHL after playing in the ECHL, including a record 47 in 2005-06 and 26 in 2006-07 and 2007-08.

Former ECHL coaches working as head coaches in the NHL are Bruce Boudreau of the Washington Capitals, Scott Gordon of the New York Islanders and Peter Laviolette of the Carolina Hurricanes. Boudreau, who coached Mississippi for three seasons winning the Kelly Cup championship in 1999, was named NHL Coach of the Year in 2007-08 becoming the first former ECHL coach to receive the award. Laviolette, who began his coaching career with the Wheeling Nailers, led Carolina Hurricanes to the Stanley Cup in 2006. There are 15 assistant coaches in the NHL who were players or coaches in the ECHL.

The ECHL is represented for the eighth consecutive year on the National Hockey League championship team in 2008 by Aaron Downey of the Detroit Red Wings.

The ECHL has affiliations with 26 of the 29 teams in the American Hockey League in 2007-08 and for the past 19 years there has been an ECHL player on the Calder Cup champion. In the last six seasons the ECHL has had more call ups to the AHL than all other professional leagues combined with over 2,300 call ups involving more than 1,200 players. In each of the last three seasons there have been more than 225 players who have played in both the ECHL and the AHL in the same season.

Further information on the ECHL is available from its website at ECHL.com.