Bakersfield, Trenton Still Perfect 5-0-0

Following the third week of play in the ECHL, Bakersfield and Trenton are both 5-0-0 while Johnstown and Toledo have not had regulation loss. The league record for consecutive wins to begin the season is eight games, set October 19-November 4, 1994 by Dayton and tied October 12-26, 2001 by Trenton.

Bakersfield is tied for the West Division lead with defending Kelly Cup Champion Idaho (5-2-0) at 10 points. The Condors, who were 14-17-5 at home in 2003-04, improved to 4-0-0 at home, beating Alaska 5-2 on Tuesday and defending Brabham Cup Champion San Diego 4-1 on Saturday. Bakersfield will host Toledo on Thursday and Friday and San Diego on Saturday.

Trenton is in first place in the North Division with 10 points, one point ahead of Toledo (3-0-3) and two points ahead of Johnstown (2-0-4) which is tied for third place with Dayton (4-3-0) and Wheeling (4-4-0). Trenton improved to 3-0-0 on the road, winning 4-1 at Charlotte on Friday and returned home on Saturday to post a 3-2 shootout win against Johnstown. The Titans host Johnstown on Wednesday and Dayton on Friday before traveling to Atlantic City on Saturday.

Bakersfield leads the league in scoring with 4.60 goals per game and ranks fourth in fewest goals allowed with 2.00 per game. Trenton leads the league in fewest goals allowed with 1.40 per game and is tied for 10th in scoring with 3.00 goals per game.

Every game involving Johnstown has been a one-goal game and only two games have been decided in regulation. The Chiefs are 0-3 in shootouts and 0-1 in overtime games. Five of Toledo’s six games have been one-goal games and the last four games have all gone past regulation, including three consecutive shootouts. The Storm is 1-0 in overtime and 0-3 in shootouts.

The ECHL record for consecutive shootouts is nine by Huntington from January 31-February 20, 1998. The second longest streak for consecutive shootouts is six by Richmond from November 24-December 9, 1995 while the third longest is five by Atlantic City from January 28-February 4, 2004.