Bartl, Holt receive Media Relations Award of Excellence

The ECHL on Wednesday announced that Kevin Bartl and Ryan Holt of the Bakersfield Condors are the 2012-13 recipients of the Award of Excellence for Media Relations as determined in voting by members of the media, league media relations directors and broadcasters.

The other finalists were Nick Brunker of the Cincinnati Cyclones, Dustin Bixby of the Gwinnett Gladiators, Will Hoenike of the Idaho Steelheads and Mike Modugno of the Kalamazoo Wings.

Bartl completed his tenth season with the Condors in 2012-13 and oversees the communications department. The Rochester, N.Y. native first served as Director of Broadcasting and Media Relations with the Condors from 2001-05. He then spent two seasons in the American Hockey League with Lowell as Director of Media and Team Services prior to returning to Bakersfield. Kevin worked from 1999-2001 with the Rockford IceHogs, and also served terms with the Rochester Americans (AHL) and the Batavia Muckdogs (NY-Penn League baseball) before joining the Condors. He was named Broadcaster of the Year twice – in 2000-01 with Rockford of the United Hockey League, and in 2002-03 with the Condors in the West Coast Hockey League, and also served as the television broadcaster for the 2011 ECHL All-Star Classic.

Holt completed his second season with the Condors in 2012-13 as the Media Relations and Broadcasting Manager. His primary duties will include assisting with all matters of the media relations department including providing written and video content for website, social media and game-night materials. Holt is the play-by-play voice on all 72 Condors game on radio, TV, and internet. The North Weymouth, Mass. native spent the 2010-11 season as the Director of Media Relations and Broadcasting for the Corpus Christi IceRays of the North American Hockey League where he broadcasted all 58 of the team’s games and oversaw the communications department. Holt received his Bachelor’s of Liberal Arts Degree with a major in Political Science from Holy Cross in 2010.

ECHL Award of Excellence for Media Relations Winners

2013Kevin Bartl and Ryan HoltBakersfield Condors
2012J.P. Puma
Colorado Eagles
2011Will HoenikeIdaho Steelheads
2010Eric LevineElmira Jackals
2009Mike BentonStockton Thunder
2008John HamelCincinnati Cyclones
 Jeff Harris/Mike WalkerVictoria Salmon Kings
2007Dustin BixbyGwinnett Gladiators
 Josh FisherLas Vegas Wranglers
2006Jeremy ZagerSan Diego Gulls
2005Jeremy ZagerSan Diego Gulls
2004Mike KellyMississippi Sea Wolves
2003Ryan StanzelLouisiana IceGators
2002Bill McLaughlinGreenville Grrrowl
2001Darren AbbottSouth Carolina Stingrays
2000Darren AbbottSouth Carolina Stingrays
1999Mark SimpsonCharlotte Checkers
1998Andy DavisRichmond Renegades
1997Peter KostosLouisiana IceGators