Board of Governors Approves Extension
For Voluntary Suspensions For
Cincinnati, Reno, Burlin

PRINCETON, N.J. – The ECHL announced on Thursday that the ECHL Board of Governors approved extensions to the Voluntary Suspensions for the ECHL memberships in Burlington (Vermont), Cincinnati (Ohio) and Reno (Nevada).

The voluntary suspension requests were approved at the Mid-Season Board of Governors Meeting held in conjunction with the 2005 ECHL All-Star Game. The memberships in Vermont and Reno continue to await completion of arena projects while the Cincinnati membership continues its efforts working with local government.

Cincinnati played in 2003-04 while the Vermont membership played in 2002-03 in Lexington (Kentucky). Along with eight other teams from the west, the Reno membership was approved as an expansion member with a home arena pending in September 2002.

The ECHL will welcome three new markets for 2005-06 with the addition of Gulf Coast (Florida), Phoenix (Arizona) and Stockton (California). In 2004-05, the ECHL is playing with 28 teams in 16 states and one Canadian province, welcoming Victoria (British Columbia) which has become the first ECHL team outside the United States.

The Premier “AA” Hockey League, the ECHL has affiliations with 23 of the 30 teams in the National Hockey League and 24 of the 28 teams in the American Hockey League. As of February 1, there were 110 players in the ECHL on AHL contracts and 98 players on NHL contracts.