Board of Governors approves Missouri ownership transfer

PRINCETON, N.J. – The ECHL announced on Friday that the Board of Governors has approved the Transfer in Controlling Interest of the Missouri Mavericks from Independence Professional Hockey, LLC, an entity controlled by Matt Adams, to Loretto Sports Ventures, LLC, an entity controlled by Lamar Hunt, Jr.

Lamar Hunt, Jr. will be formally introduced as the team’s new owner at a 1 p.m. CT press conference, today at Independence Events Center (19100 East Valley View Parkway, Indepencence, MO 64055) and as new owner to Mavericks’ fans, tonight at 7:05 p.m. CT, prior to the Mavericks’ game vs. Rapid City.

“We proudly welcome Lamar Hunt Jr. to the ECHL,” said ECHL Commissioner Brian McKenna. “The Missouri Mavericks have been a welcome addition to our league and the new ownership group provides a strong local tie to what has been a great city for our sport.”

“Lamar’s sports acumen and dedication to the community will immediately impact the success of our team,” said Mavericks President and CEO, Brent Thiessen. “It insures our long-term future in Kansas City and we are excited to help him take the Mavericks to the next level.”


About the ECHL

Began in 1988-89 with five teams in four states, the ECHL has grown into a coast-to-coast league with 28 teams in 20 states and one Canadian province for its 27th season in 2014-15. There have been 556 players who have gone on to play in the National Hockey League after starting their careers in the ECHL, including 15 who made their NHL debuts in the 2014-15 season. The ECHL has affiliations with 29 of the 30 NHL teams in 2014-15, marking the 18th consecutive season that the league had affiliations with at least 20 teams in the NHL. Further information on the ECHL is available on its website at as well as on Facebook and Twitter.