Both Conference Finals to be decided in Game 7


For the first time in the ECHL’s 27-year history, both series in the Conference Finals will be decided in a Game 7. In the Eastern Conference Finals, the Toledo Walleye host the South Carolina Stingrays at 7:35 p.m. ET while in the Western Conference Finals, the Allen Americans host the Ontario Reign at 7:05 p.m. CT. The two Game 7s give the ECHL seven such games in the 2015 Kelly Cup Playoffs, setting a new League record for the most Game 7s in a single postseason, and increases the total number of Game 7s in ECHL history to 31.

Toledo becomes the first team in ECHL history to play three Game 7s in a single postseason. The Walleye defeated Wheeling 2-1 in overtime of Game 7 in the North Division Semifinals before defeating Fort Wayne 5-2 in Game 7 in the North Division Finals. Toledo lost the first three games in the Eastern Conference Finals before rallying to force tonight’s deciding game, becoming just the third team in League history to force a Game 7 after losing the first three games. Cincinnati lost Game 7 to Atlantic City in the 2003 Northern Conference Finals and then defeated Reading in Game 7 in the 2010 American Conference Finals.

South Carolina is playing its second Game 7 in the 2015 Kelly Cup Playoffs. The Stingrays scored three goals in the third period to rally from a 2-0 deficit and defeat Reading 3-2 in Game 7 of the East Division Semifinals. South Carolina is 2-0 all-time in Game 7, also defeating Alaska in the 2009 Kelly Cup Finals.

Each of the first six games in the Eastern Conference Finals has been decided by one goal, with three of the last four games going to overtime.

In the Western Conference Finals, Allen has won the last two games to force tonight’s deciding game. It is the Americans first-ever Game 7 in the Kelly Cup Playoffs while Ontario is playing its second Game 7 this season, and third all-time. The Reign defeated Colorado 4-2 in Game 7 of the Pacific Division Semifinals on April 28. Ontario lost to Stockton in Game 7 in the 2009 Pacific Division Semifinals.

Including these two series, there have been 68 series in ECHL postseason history where a team held a 3-1 lead, and only 12 times has the series gone to seven games. In the previous 10 occassions, the team which trailed 3-1 has won four times. In addition to Cincinnati in the 2010 Conference Finals, the other three teams to rally from a 3-1 deficit are Mississippi over Richmond in the 1999 Kelly Cup Finals, Las Vegas over Idaho in the 2006 West Division Semifinals and Dayton over Cincinnati in the 2007 North Division Finals.

The home team is 21-8 all-time in ECHL Game 7’s, and has won seven straight and 17 of the last 23. Five times a Game 7 has gone to overtime, with three of those being decided in double overtime. The home team has won four of the five Game 7s decided in overtime, including Toledo in the Division Semifinals.

Both of tonight’s games are available for viewing on ECHL.TV.

Game 7’s in ECHL History


May 13, 2015Fort Wayne 2 at TOLEDO 5 DF
April 29, 2015Quad City 1 at RAPID CITY 2DSF
April 29, 2015Wheeling 1 at TOLEDO 2 (OT)DSF
April 29, 2015Reading 2 at SOUTH CAROLINA 3DSF
April 28, 2015Colorado 2 at ONTARIO 4DSF
May 1, 2013Florida 1 at READING 4
April 14, 2013Las Vegas 4 at STOCKTON 6CQF
April 27, 2011 WHEELING 4 at Greenville 3 (OT) SF
May 12, 2010 Reading 0 at CINCINNATI 1 CF
April 28, 2010 CINCINNATI 2 at Charlotte 1 CSF
June 5, 2009 SOUTH CAROLINA 4 at Alaska 2 KCF
May 6, 2009Stockton 1 at LAS VEGAS 5DF
April 22, 2009STOCKTON 5 at Ontario 4
April 22, 2009 Bakersfield 1 at LAS VEGAS 5 DSF
April 21, 2009 ELMIRA 5 at Trenton 3 DSF
April 20, 2009 Wheeling 1 at CINCINNATI 2 (2 OT) DSF
May 5, 2008 Reading 1 at CINCINNATI 6 DF
May 18, 2007 DAYTON 3 at Florida 1 CF
May 3, 2007 Cincinnati 3 at DAYTON 5 DF
May 22, 2006 Fresno 2 at ALASKA 3 (2 OT) CF
May 6, 2006 Bakersfield 2 at FRESNO 4 DF
April 22, 2006 Long Beach 3 at BAKERSFIELD 4 DSF
April 19, 2006 Idaho 2 at LAS VEGAS 6 DSF
May 16, 2005 TRENTON 2 at Alaska 0 CF
May 3, 2003 Cincinnati 2 at ATLANTIC CITY 3 CF
May 13, 2001 Peoria 3 at TRENTON 4 CF
May 30, 1999 Richmond 3 at MISSISSIPPI 4 (2 OT) KCF
March 31, 1992 Roanoke Valley 2 at GREENSBORO 6 1st
April 12, 1989 CAROLINA 7 at Johnstown 4 RCF