Brigley Becomes 220th ECHL Player In NHL

PRINCETON, N.J. – Former Macon left wing Travis Brigley became the 220th former ECHL player to advance to the National Hockey League on Sunday. Brigley had one shot and two penalty minutes while playing 13 shifts in the Avalanche’s 3-1 loss to Buffalo.

Selected in the second round (39th overall) by Calgary in the 1996 NHL Entry Draft, Brigley scored seven points (4g-3a) in eight games with Macon in 2001-02. The 26-year-old Brigley also played with Cincinnati of the American Hockey League in 2001-02 scoring 43 points (22g-21a) in 70 regular season games and two points (2g-0a) in three postseason games. He returned to the AHL in 2002-03 scoring 45 points (18g-27a) in 64 regular season games with Cincinnati and eight points (3g-5a) in 13 regular season games and three points (1g-2a) in five postseason games with Hershey. He began 2003-04 with Hershey and had six points (4g-2a) in seven games before being called up by Colorado on Sunday. He tied the Bears record for fastest goal to begin a game, scoring nine seconds into the game at Binghamton on Friday, and had scored a goal in four consecutive games and was tied for the team lead in goals at the time of his call up.

Brigley is the fifth ECHL player to make his NHL debut in 2003-04, joining Boyd Kane, who played for Philadelphia on October 16; Michael Ryder, who played for Montreal on October 9; Garrett Burnett, who played for Anaheim on October 8; and Andrew Hutchinson, who played for Nashville on October 18.

There were 90 ECHL players that played in the NHL in 2002-03, including 20 that made their first-ever appearance. The 20 players who made their NHL debut in 2002-03 were: Francois Beauchemin (Montreal), Zdenek Blatny (Atlanta), Joe Corvo (Los Angeles), Fedor Fedorov (Vancouver), Vern Fiddler (Nashville), Brian Finley (Nashville), Simon Gamache (Atlanta), Ryan Kraft (San Jose), Kent McDonell (Columbus), Brett McLean (Chicago), Rick Mrozik (Calgary), Cody Rudkowsky (St. Louis), Curtis Sanford (St. Louis), Cam Severson (Anaheim), Mike Siklenka (Philadelphia), Chris Schmidt (Los Angeles), Jerred Smithson (Los Angeles), Tim Thomas (Boston), John Tripp (New York Rangers) and Matt Walker (St. Louis).