Bylsma wins Jack Adams Award

LAS VEGAS – The National Hockey League announced that former ECHL player and current Pittsburgh Penguins head coach Dan Bylsma is the winner of the Jack Adams Award as the NHL’s top coach.


Former ECHL coach, and current Washington Capitals head coach Bruce Boudreau, won the award in 2007-08.


Despite playing half the season without superstars Sidney Crosby and Evgeni Malkin, and having to deal with numerous other injuries to key players, Bylsma led the Penguins to 49 wins and 106 points, the best totals the franchise has put up since the 1992-93 season when it went 56-21-7 for 119 points.


Bylsma was named head coach of the Penguins on Feb. 15, 2009 and led the team to its third Stanley Cup championship that spring with a seven-game victory over Detroit. The 40 year old began the 2008-09 season as head coach of Pittsburgh’s AHL affiliate in Wilkes-Barre/Scranton, where he was an assistant coach in 2007-08. He began his coaching career as an assistant coach with the American Hockey League’s Cincinnati Mighty Ducks in 2004, and served as an assistant coach with the New York Islanders in 2005-06.


A native of Grand Haven, Mich., Bylsma played for Greensboro of the ECHL in 1992-93 and 1993-94 scoring 90 points (39g-51a) in 85 games. Bylsma played eight seasons in the National  Hockey League with Los Angeles and Anaheim from 1995-2004 scoring 62 points (19g-43a) in 429 regular season games and adding one point (0g-1a) in 16 career Stanley Cup Playoffs games. He was a member of the Mighty Ducks’ Stanley Cup runner-up squad in 2003.


In addition to Bylsma and Boudreau, there are four other head coaches in the National Hockey League who have ECHL ties. Former ECHL coach and executive Jack Capuano is head coach of the New York Islanders; former Las Vegas head coach Glen Gulutzan, who was ECHL Coach of the Year in 2007, is head coach of the Dallas Stars; former Wheeling head coach Peter Laviolette is head coach of the Philadelphia Flyers; and former ECHL player and coach Davis Payne, who was ECHL Coach of the Year in 2007 and led Alaska to the 2006 Kelly Cup title, is head coach of the St. Louis Blues.


Every ECHL team has an affiliation with an NHL team in 2010-11 and the league has affiliations with 27 of the 30 NHL teams, marking the 14th consecutive season that the league had affiliations with at least 20 teams in the NHL.


There have been 467 players who have played in the NHL after playing in the ECHL. Twenty-three ECHL players made their NHL debut in 2010-11: former Idaho Steelheads goaltender and 2010 ECHL All-Star Richard Bachman (Dallas on Dec. 11), former Minnesota Wild defenseman Drew Bagnall (Minnesota on April 8), former Las Vegas Wranglers right wing Adam Cracknell (St. Louis on Dec. 15), former Cincinnati Cyclones goaltender Mark Dekanich (Nashville on Dec. 18), former South Carolina Stingrays left wing Stefan Della Rovere (St. Louis on Dec. 1), former Phoenix RoadRunners center Andrew Desjardins (San Jose on Jan. 3), former Cincinnati Cyclones goaltender and 2007 ECHL All-Star Cedrick Desjardins (Cincinnati on Dec. 30), former Atlantic City Boardwalk Bullies and Idaho Steelheads defenseman Brian Fahey (Washington on Oct. 16), former South Carolina Stingrays goaltender and 2010 ECHL All-Star Braden Holtby (Washington on Nov. 7), former Charlotte Checkers right wing Hugh Jessiman (Florida on Feb. 27), former Texas Wildcatters left wing Matt Kassian (Minnesota on Nov. 5), former Ontario Reign center Dwight King (Los Angeles on Nov. 17), former Utah Grizzlies goaltender Mikko Koskinen (New York Islanders on Feb. 8), former Phoenix RoadRunners and Utah Grizzlies goaltender Nathan Lawson (New York Islanders on Dec. 18), former Toledo Walleye goaltender Thomas McCollum (Detroit on March 30), former Trenton Titans defenseman Olivier Magnan (New Jersey on Oct. 22), former Trenton Devils center Brad Mills (New Jersey on Oct. 30), former South Carolina Stingrays center and two-time ECHL All-Star Travis Morin (Dallas on Jan. 26), former Johnstown Chiefs and Cincinnati Cyclones forward Chris Mueller (Nashville on Dec. 28), former Bakersfield Condors and Elmira Jackals goaltender and 2010 ECHL All-Star Timo Pielmeier (Anaheim on Feb. 19), former Alaska Aces right wing Ryan Reaves (St. Louis on Oct. 11), former Reading Royals and South Carolina Stingrays goaltender and 2009 Kelly Cup Playoffs Most Valuable Player James Reimer (Tortonto on Dec. 20) and former Victoria Salmon Kings defenseman Yann Sauve (Vancouver on Feb. 15).


The ECHL has had 275 players reach the NHL since 2002-03 when it changed its focus to become the primary developmental league for the NHL and the AHL. The ECHL had 97 players reach the NHL in its first 10 seasons and 215 in the first 15 years.


There have been 211 ECHL players that have played their first game in the last six seasons for an average of more than 35 per year.


There were four players who played in the ECHL and the NHL this season: Mike Brodeur with Elmira and Ottawa, Timo Pielmeier with Elmira and Anaheim, Thomas McCollum with Toledo and Detroit and Yann Sauve with Victoria and Vancouver.


The ECHL was represented for the 11th year in a row on the Stanley Cup champion with Boston Bruins assistant coach Geoff Ward, players Rich Peverley, Michael Ryder and Tim Thomas, radio broadcaster Dave Goucher and scout Tom McVie. Thomas is the first former ECHL player to win the Conn Smythe Trophy as Most Valuable Player of the Stanley Cup Playoffs. There were 34 former players and 19 coaches on the 16 teams competing in the National Hockey League’s Stanley Cup Playoffs, marking the sixh year in a row that there have been at least 30 former ECHL players and the eighth consecutive season that over 25 players with ECHL experience have competed in the NHL postseason.


The first ECHL player to play in the NHL was Johnstown Chiefs goaltender Scott Gordon, who played his first game with the Quebec Nordiques against Buffalo on Jan. 30, 1990.


Former ECHL broadcasters working in the National Hockey League include John Ahlers and Steve Carroll of the Anaheim Ducks, Tom Callahan of the Nashville Predators, Dave Goucher of the Boston Bruins, Chris Kerber of the St. Louis Blues, Jack Michaels of the Edmonton Oilers, Dave Mishkin of the Tampa Bay Lightning and Bob McElligott and John Michael of the Columbus Blue Jackets.

Ryan Stanzel and Jeremy Zager, who were both recipients of the ECHL Media Relations Director of the Year award, are working in the communications department for the Minnesota Wild and the Los Angeles Kings, respectively. Former ECHL assistant director of communications Joe Siville and Kelly Murray are now with the Philadelphia Flyers and the Washington Capitals, respectively, while former ECHL director of communications Jason Rothwell is the creative director for the Columbus Blue Jackets.


Premier ‘AA’ Hockey League Fast Facts
• Watch games live on America One, the “Official Broadband & Mobile Broadcaster” of the ECHL.
• The ECHL celebrated its 20th Anniversary in 2007-08 and is the third-longest tenured professional hockey league behind only the National Hockey League and the American Hockey League.
• ECHL began in 1988-89 with five teams in four states and has grown to be a coast-to-coast league with 20 teams in 16 states for 2010-11.
• The league officially changed its name from East Coast Hockey League to ECHL on May 19, 2003.
• ECHL has affiliations with 26 of the 30 teams in the American Hockey League and for the past 22 years there has been an ECHL player on the Calder Cup Champion.
• In the last seven seasons the ECHL has had more call-ups to the AHL than all other professional leagues combined with over 3,000 call-ups involving more than 1,500 players and in 2010-11 there were 10 times as many call-ups from the ECHL to the AHL than all other professional leagues.
• Further information on the ECHL is available from its website at