Capitals Recall Former ECHL Defenseman Sloan

ARLINGTON, Va. – The Washington Capitals of the National Hockey League announced that they have recalled former ECHL defenseman Tyler Sloan from the Hershey Bears of the American Hockey League.

The 27 year old is scheduled to play his first NHL game on Tuesday in his hometown of Calgary, Alberta against the Flames.

The Stingrays are the ECHL affiliate of Washington of the NHL and Hershey of the AHL. The head coach of Washington is Bruce Boudreau, who coached Mississippi for three seasons winning the Kelly Cup championship in 1999, while the head coach of Hershey is Bob Woods, who coached Mississippi for four seasons from 2001-05. Boudreau was named NHL Coach of the Year in 2007-08 becoming the first former ECHL coach to receive the award. Woods was an ECHL All-Star selection four times and retired as the ECHL all-time leader with 599 games played. He was named to the Second Team Defense on the ECHL 15th Anniversary Team in 2003, and was named Second Team Defense on The Hockey News’ 50th Anniversary All-ECHL Team in 1997.

The 27 year old played in the ECHL each of his first three professional seasons beginning in 2002-03 when he had three points (1g-2a) and 22 penalty minutes in 14 games with Dayton while also playing in the AHL where he had three points (2g-1a) and 46 penalty minutes in 39 regular season games for Syracuse.

He returned to Dayton in 2004-05 and had career bests with six goals, 84 penalty minutes and 17 points in 43 games while also playing for Syracuse in the AHL where he had two assists and 18 penalty minutes in 14 games.

The 6-foot-3 and 205-pound Sloan had career highs with 16 assists and 20 points and had 71 penalty minutes in 48 regular season games and four assists and 27 penalty minutes in 13 games in the Kelly Cup Playoffs for Las Vegas in 2005-06. He also played in the AHL in 2005-06 appearing in four regular season games for Manitoba and registering an assist and two penalty minutes in two games for Hershey.

He has played in Hershey the last two seasons and has 22 points (3g-19a) and 202 penalty minutes in 129 regular season games and seven assists and 38 penalty minutes in 22 playoff games for the Bears.

Premier ‘AA’ Hockey League Fast Facts
• The ECHL celebrated its 20th Anniversary in 2007-08 and is the third-longest tenured professional hockey league behind only the National Hockey League and the American Hockey League.
• ECHL began in 1988-89 with five teams in four states and has grown to be a coast-to-coast league with 23 teams playing 828 games in 16 states and British Columbia in 2008-09.
• The Reading Royals, the City of Reading and the Sovereign Center will host the 17th Annual ECHL All-Star Game on Jan. 21, 2009 and the 12th Annual All-Star Skills Competition on Jan. 20, 2009.
• The league officially changed its name from East Coast Hockey League to ECHL on May 19, 2003.
• Affiliations with 26 of the 30 teams in the National Hockey League marking 12th consecutive season that the league has had affiliations with at least 20 teams in the NHL.
359 former ECHL players have played in NHL.
• 103 have played their first NHL game in the last four seasons.
• Four former ECHL players have made their NHL debut this season: former Wheeling Nailers and ECHL All-Star defenseman Paul Bissonnette (Pittsburgh on Oct. 4), former Charlotte Checkers defenseman Steve MacIntyre (Edmonton on Oct. 15), former Las Vegas Wranglers defenseman Adam Pardy (Calgary on Oct. 9) and former Gwinnett Gladiators center Jared Ross (Philadelphia on Oct. 11).
• There were 72 former ECHL players on NHL opening-day rosters.
• Twenty-six former ECHL players made their NHL debut in 2007-08, including six who played in both the ECHL and the NHL as goaltender Chris Beckford-Tseu (Alaska and St. Louis), Adam Berti (Pensacola and Chicago), Joe Jensen (Wheeling and Carolina), Dan LaCosta (Elmira and Columbus), Jonathan Quick (Reading and Los Angeles) and Danny Taylor (Reading and Los Angeles).
• Record 51 former ECHL players played their first NHL game in 2005-06.
• ECHL has been represented on last eight Stanley Cup champions.
• Former ECHL coaches working as head coaches in the NHL are Bruce Boudreau of the Washington Capitals, Scott Gordon of the New York Islanders and Peter Laviolette of the Carolina Hurricanes. Boudreau, who coached Mississippi for three seasons winning the Kelly Cup championship in 1999, was named NHL Coach of the Year in 2007-08 becoming the first former ECHL coach to receive the award. Laviolette, who began his coaching career with the Wheeling Nailers, led Carolina Hurricanes to the Stanley Cup in 2006.
• There are 15 assistant coaches in the NHL who were players or coaches in the ECHL.
• There are 18 former ECHL officials scheduled to work as part of the NHL officiating team in 2008-09 with referees David Banfield, Chris Ciamaga, Ghislain Hebert, Marc Joannette, Mike Leggo, Wes McCauley, Dean Morton, Dan O’Rourke, Brian Pochmara, Kevin Pollock, Kyle Rehman, Chris Rooney, Justin St. Pierre and Ian Walsh and linesmen Steve Barton, Brian Mach, Tim Nowak and Jay Sharrers. Barton, Joannette, Leggo, McCauley, Nowak, Pollock, Rooney and Sharrers all worked the 2008 Stanley Cup Playoffs.
• ECHL has affiliations with 25 of the 29 teams in the American Hockey League and for the past 19 years there has been an ECHL player on the Calder Cup Champion.
• In the last six seasons the ECHL has had more call-ups to the AHL than all other professional leagues combined with over 2,000 call-ups involving more than 1,000 players since 2002-03.
• Further information on the ECHL is available from its website at