Carbery named ECHL Coach of the Year


The ECHL on Tuesday announced that Spencer Carbery of the South Carolina Stingrays is the 2013-14 recipient of the John Brophy Award as the league’s Coach of the Year.


The John Brophy Award is the trophy presented annually to the ECHL coach selected to have contributed the most to his team’s success as selected in a vote of league coaches. The trophy is named for John Brophy, who won a record three ECHL titles with Hampton Roads in 1991, 1992 and 1998, and was inducted into the ECHL Hall of Fame in 2009.


Nick Bootland of Kalamazoo finished second in the voting, followed by Ontario’s Jason Christie, Vince Williams of Orlando and Alaska’s Rob Murray.

The winner of the Defenseman of the Year award will be announced on Wednesday.


Carbery led the Stingrays to the South Division title, the club’s first division championship since capturing the Southeast Division title in 2000-01, with a 43-23-6 record for 92 points. It was the third straight season that the Stingrays have improved their record from the previous year.


In three seasons as South Carolina’s head coach, Carbery has posted a record of 118-77-21 and has led the Stingrays to the Kelly Cup Playoffs each season. Carbery was named the sixth head coach in Stingrays history on July 26, 2011 after serving as the team’s assistant coach for one season under Cail MacLean.

Carbery joined the organization as a player during the 2008-09 campaign and helped the club capture its ECHL-record third Kelly Cup championship. He recorded 22 goals and 26 assists for 48 points in 94 games with the Stingrays and was named the inaugural recipient of the Jerry Zucker Community Service Award in 2009. Carbery skated in four professional seasons with the Bakersfield Condors, Stockton Thunder, Fresno Falcons and Stingrays of the ECHL and the Tulsa Oilers of the Central Hockey League totaling 117 points (48g-69a) in 244 games.

John Brophy Award Winners (ECHL Coach of the Year)


2014Spencer CarberySouth Carolina Stingrays
2013Jarrod SkaldeCincinnati Cyclones
2012Rob Murray
Alaska Aces
 John Wroblewski
Gwinnett Gladiators
2011Brent ThompsonAlaska Aces
2010Derek LaxdalIdaho Steelheads
2009Rick KowalskyTrenton Devils
2008Chuck WeberCincinnati Cyclones
2007Davis PayneAlaska Aces
2006Glen GulutzanLas Vegas Wranglers
2005Nick VitucciToledo Storm
2004Pat BinghamWheeling Nailers
2003Claude NoelToledo Storm
2002Dave FarrishLouisiana IceGators
2001Troy WardTrenton Titans
2000Bob FergusonFlorida Everblades
1999Bob FergusonFlorida Everblades
1998Chris NilanChesapeake IceBreakers
1997Brian McCutcheonColumbus Chill
1996Roy SommerRichmond Renegades
1995Jim PlayfairDayton Bombers
1994Barry SmithKnoxville Cherokees
1993Kurt KleinendorstRaleigh IceCaps
1992Doug SauterWinston-Salem Thunderbirds
1991Don JacksonKnoxville Cherokees
1990Dave AllisonVirginia Lancers
1989Ron HansisErie Panthers