Chase named ECHL Broadcaster of the Year

PRINCETON, N.J. – The ECHL announced that Bob Chase of the Fort Wayne Komets is the 2013-14 recipient of the ECHL Broadcaster of the Year award as determined in voting by league media relations directors and broadcasters.

The other finalists were Ryan Holt of the Bakersfield Condors, Mike Modugno of the Kalamazoo Wings, Bob Mills of the Orlando Solar Bears and Matt Melzak of the Toledo Walleye.

The 2013-14 season was Chase’s 61st season of broadcasting Komets hockey on WOWO-AM and he has served as the radio voice for the team for all but its first season in Fort Wayne. During Chase’s extended career with the Komets he has seen, and called, 12 regular-season titles and nine league championships over the course of more than 4,500 Komets’ games. The Komets retired the number 40 in Chase’s honor as he celebrated his 40th season behind the Fort Wayne microphone in 1993 and he was inducted into the Komets Hall of Fame in 2003 in honor of his 50th season as Komets’ broadcaster.

Chase was named a recipient of the prestigious Lester Patrick Award in a ceremony held in Dallas, Texas Oct. 15, 2012. The Lester Patrick Trophy has been presented annually by the NHL and USA Hockey since 1966 to honor one’s contribution to ice hockey in the United States. The trophy is named after Lester Patrick (1883-1960), player and longtime coach of the New York Rangers.

ECHL Broadcaster Award Winners

2014Bob ChaseFort Wayne Komets
2013Joseph ZakrzewskiSouth Carolina Stingrays
2012Bob MillsChicago Express
2011Josh BogoradAlaska Aces
2010Doug PlagensIdaho Steelheads
2009Josh HellerSouth Carolina Stingrays
2008Joe BabikFresno Falcons
Brendan BurkeWheeling Nailers
2007Kevin ReiterFlorida Everblades
Joe O’DonnellIdaho Steelheads
2006Dan WeissPhoenix RoadRunners
2005John MichaelJohnstown Chiefs
2004Jack MichaelsAlaska Aces
2003Darren AbbottSouth Carolina Stingrays
2002Joe ZydloTrenton Titans