Cincinnati receives ECHL Marketing Award of Excellence

The ECHL announced on Monday that the Cincinnati Cyclones are the 2015-16 recipient of the ECHL Award of Excellence for Marketing.

The award recognizes the ECHL team that executes a well-rounded marketing, sponsorship and advertising campaign with consideration given to sponsorship sales, advertising, marketing campaign and promotions.

The other finalists were the Florida Everblades, Manchester Monarchs, Missouri Mavericks and Toledo Walleye.

During the 2015-16 season, the Cyclones continued their successful “More Than Just A Game” marketing campaign to reinforce the message that the family fun of a Cyclones’ game is more than just what happens on the ice. The team also employed an aggressive mix of digital, television and grassroots marketing to extend and expand the brand’s reach into new homes in and around Cincinnati. The introduction of Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtle Night to the team’s promotional schedule had the widest impact during the 2015-16 season. The event resulted in the first-ever sellout crowd in team history with 16,529 fans in attendance, the second-largest crowd in the 28-year history of the ECHL.

ECHL Marketing Award Of Excellence

2015-16    Cincinnati Cyclones
2014-15    Colorado Eagles
2013-14    Bakersfield Condors
2012-13    Toledo Walleye
2011-12    Gwinnett Gladiators
2010-11    Cincinnati Cyclones
2009-10    Bakersfield Condors
2008-09    Alaska Aces
2007-08    Charlotte Checkers
                Bakersfield Condors
2006-07    Charlotte Checkers
                Alaska Aces
2005-06    San Diego Gulls
2004-05    George Sandoval, Alaska Aces
2003-04    Eric Trapp and John Cunningham, Idaho Steelheads
2002-03    Bart Rogers and Mike Nelson, Peoria Rivermen
2001-02    Mark Miller, Florida Everblades
2000-01    Rich Lisk, Trenton Titans
1999-00    Bart Rogers, Peoria Rivermen
1998-99    Pat Pylypuik, Toledo Storm
1997-98    Neil Hoyt, Pensacola Ice Pilots
1996-97    Belinda Wiggins, Richmond Renegades