Costello receives 2014-15 ECHL Sportsmanship Award

Chad Costello of the Allen Americans is the recipient of the Sportsmanship Award for 2014-15 as determined in a vote of ECHL coaches, broadcasters, media relations directors and media members.

The award is presented annually to the player who is judged to have exhibited the best sportsmanship combined with a high standard of playing ability.

Trent Daavettila of Colorado finished second, followed by Grenville’s Vinny Saponari, Drew Fisher of Tulsa and Kalamazoo’s Sam Ftorek.

Costello, who was named to the All-ECHL First Team on Thursday, leads the ECHL in scoring with 119 points, which is tied for the 11th highest single-season total in league history, while accumulating just 24 penalty minutes in 70 games this season. He also leads the league in assists (79), power-play assists (33) and power-play points (42) while he tied for second in goals (40) and is fourth in plus-minus (+39).

The 28-year-old has recorded 258 points (88g-170a) in 163 career ECHL games with Allen, Ontario, Colorado and Texas. He was named the ECHL Most Valuable Player with Colorado in 2011-12 when he had 76 points (29g-47a) in just 47 games. He has added 17 points (3g-14a) in 40 career American Hockey League games with Bridgeport, Worcester, Springfield and Lake Erie.

ECHL Sportsmanship Award Winners


2015Chad CostelloAllen Americans
2014Peter SivakAlaska Aces
2013Randy RoweToledo Walleye
2012Kevin UlanskiColorado Eagles
2011Brian SwansonAlaska Aces
2010Barret EhgoetzCincinnati Cyclones
2009Travis MorinSouth Carolina Stingrays
2008Jeff CampbellGwinnett Gladiators
2007Derek NesbittIdaho Steelheads
2006Steve SavianoFlorida Everblades
2005Kris GoodjohnGwinnett Gladiators
2004Mark PedersonSan Diego Gulls
2003Rejean StringerColumbia Inferno
2002Ben StaffordTrenton Titans
2001Jamie LingDayton Bombers
2000Jamie LingDayton Bombers
1999Jamie LingDayton Bombers
1998Cal IngrahamTallahassee TigerSharks
1997Mike RossSouth Carolina Stingrays