Costello wins ECHL Scoring Title

The ECHL on Monday announced that Chad Costello of the Allen Americans has won the league scoring championship with 103 points (24g-79a).

Colorado’s Trent Daavettila was second with 80 points (25g-55a) followed by Shawn Szydlowski of Fort Wayne with 75 points (25g-50a). Wheeling’s Riley Brace (26g-41) and Shane Berschbach of Toledo (24g-43a) finished tied for fourth with 67 points each.

Costello, who was named to All-ECHL First Team last week, also led the league with 79 assists, 33 power-play assists and 40 power-play points.

It is the second consecutive season in which Costello has captured the ECHL scoring title as he joins John Spoltore, who captured the title in 1999-2000 and 2000-01, as the only players to win back-to-back scoring titles in the ECHL’s 28-year history. Costello is one of just eight players in league history to record multiple 100-point seasons and one of just four to do so in consecutive seasons.

Costello has tallied 367 points (113g-254a) in 237 career ECHL games with Allen, Ontario, Colorado and Texas.

ECHL Leading Scorer Award Winners

2015-16    Chad Costello, Allen Americans, 103 points
Chad Costello, Allen Americans, 125 points
2013-14    Brandon Marino, Fort Wayne Komets, 88 points
2012-13    Mathieu Roy, Florida Everblades, 89 points   
2011-12    Dustin Gazley, Elmira Jackals, 85 points
2010-11    Justin Donati, Elmira Jackals, 94 points
2009-10    Tyler Donati, Elmira Jackals, 114 points
2008-09    Kevin Baker, Florida Everblades, 102 points
2007-08    David Desharnais, Cincinnati Cyclones, 106 points
2006-07    Brad Schell, Gwinnett Gladiators, 110 points
2005-06    Alex Leavitt, Alaska Aces, 91 points
2004-05    Scott Gomez, Alaska Aces, 86 points
2003-04    Tim Smith, Columbia Inferno, 95 points
2002-03    Buddy Smith, Arkansas RiverBlades, 104 points
2001-02    Louis Dumont, Pensacola Ice Pilots, 102 points
2000-01    Scott King, Charlotte Checkers, 101 points
1999-00    John Spoltore, Louisiana Ice Gators, 119 points
1998-99    John Spoltore, Louisiana Ice Gators, 109 points
1997-98    Jamey Hicks, Birmingham Bulls, 119 points
1996-97    Ed Courtenay, South Carolina Stingrays, 110 points
1995-96    Hugo Belanger, Nashville Knights, 144 points
1994-95    Scott Burfoot, Erie Panthers, 97 points
1993-94    Phil Berger, Greensboro Monarchs, 139 points
1992-93    Trevor Jobe, Nashville Knights, 161 points
1991-92    Phil Berger, Greensboro Monarchs, 130 points
1990-91    Stan Drulia, Knoxville Cherokees, 140 points
1989-90    Bill McDougall, Erie Panthers, 148 points
1988-89    Daryl Harpe, Erie Panthers, 122 points