Crombeen Wins 2007 Kelly Cup,
Battles For Stanley Cup In 2008

After helping the Idaho Steelheads capture the Kelly Cup in 2007, B.J. Crombeen is now battling for the Stanley Cup in the NHL Playoffs with the Dallas Stars. Crombeen can become the first player to have his name engraved on both the Kelly Cup and the Stanley Cup.

Other former ECHL players who are still playing in the NHL conference finals are Krys Barch of Dallas, Martin Biron of Philadelphia, Aaron Downey of Detroit and Dany Sabourin of Pittsburgh.

The ECHL had a representative on all 16 teams in the Stanley Cup Playoffs with 34 former players and six former coaches. It is the third consecutive season that there have been more than 30 former ECHL players in the Stanley Cup Playoffs and the fifth year in a row that more than 25 players with ECHL experience have played in the NHL postseason.

The ECHL has been represented on the last seven Stanley Cup champions including 2007 by Anaheim assistant head coach Dave Farrish, players Francois Beauchemin and George Parros and broadcasters John Ahlers and Steve Carroll.

There are 13 former ECHL players whose names are on the Stanley Cup: Francois Beauchemin and George Parros (Anaheim – 2007), Chad LaRose and Andrew Hutchinson (Carolina – 2006), Ruslan Fedotenko, Nolan Pratt and Andre Roy (Tampa Bay – 2004), Corey Schwab (New Jersey – 2003), Manny Legace (Detroit – 2002), David Aebischer and Nolan Pratt (Colorado – 2001), Krzysztof Oliwa (New Jersey – 2000) and Kevin Dean (New Jersey – 1995). Pratt is the only ECHL player to have his name engraved twice on the Stanley Cup.