Cyclones, Royals Play 13th ECHL Game 7 Monday

PRINCETON, N.J. – For the 13th time in the 20-year history of the ECHL there will be a Game 7 when Cincinnati hosts Reading in the North Division Finals on Monday.

Cincinnati is making a league record third Game 7 appearance while Reading is playing in its first Game 7. The Cyclones are 0-2 in Game 7 after losing 5-3 at Dayton in the North Division Finals in 2006 and 3-2 at Atlantic City in the conference finals in 2003.

The home team has won nine times in Game 7 (75 percent), but the visitor was the winner the last time as Dayton beat Florida 4-3 in overtime to advance to the Kelly Cup Finals a year ago. Trenton won on the road at Alaska in the conference finals en route to the Kelly Cup championship in 2005 and the Carolina Thunderbirds won Game 7 at Johnstown to capture the first ECHL championship in 1989.

There have been six Game 7s in the last two years, including a record four in 2006, after only having six Game 7s in the previous 17 years. The 2006 Kelly Cup Playoffs were the first time that more than one Game 7 had been played in a single postseason.

Dayton in 2007 became the first team in ECHL history to win two Game 7s in a single postseason, beating Cincinnati at home in the North Division Finals and Florida on the road in the American Conference Finals. The Bombers became only the third team to overcome a 3-1 deficit to win a playoff series when they beat Cincinnati.

Bakersfield in 2006 was the first team to play two Game 7s in a single postseason, beating Long Beach in the division semifinals before losing in the division finals to Fresno. The Falcons then became the second team to play two Game 7s when they lost in double overtime in the conference finals on the road to eventual champion Alaska.

Game 7 Records

Cincinnati Cyclones (0-2)
May 3, 2007 Division Finals vs. Dayton (Cincinnati 3 at DAYTON 5)
May 3, 2003 Conference Finals vs. Atlantic City (Cincinnati 2 at ATLANTIC CITY 3)

Reading Royals (0-0)

ECHL Game 7s

May 18, 2007 DAYTON 4 at Florida 3 (OT) Conference Finals
May 3, 2007 Cincinnati 3 at DAYTON 5 Division Finals
May 22, 2006 Fresno 2 at ALASKA 3 (2 OT) Conference Finals
May 6, 2006 Bakersfield 2 at FRESNO 4 Division Finals
Apr. 22, 2006 Long Beach 3 at BAKERSFIELD 4 Division Semifinals
Apr. 19, 2006 Idaho 2 at LAS VEGAS 6 Division Semifinals
May 16, 2005 TRENTON 2 at Alaska 0 Conference Finals
May 3, 2003 Cincinnati 2 at ATLANTIC CITY 3 Conference Finals
May 13, 2001 Peoria 3 at TRENTON 4 Conference Finals
May 30, 1999 Richmond 3 at MISSISSIPPI 4 (2 OT) Kelly Cup Finals
Mar. 31, 1992 Roanoke 2 at GREENSBORO 6 First Round
Apr. 12, 1989 CAROLINA 7 at Johnstown 4 Riley Cup Finals