ECHL All-Stars defeat Orlando 8-4

ORLANDO, Fla. –The ECHL All-Stars defeated the Orlando Solar Bears 8-4 on Wednesday at Amway Center in the 2015 CCM/ECHL All-Star Classic presented by Visit Orlando.

The attendance of 9,288 is the largest ECHL All-Star Classic attendance since the 2000 game in Greenville, S.C.

Myles Bell of the Evansville IceMen was named the Most Valuable Player of the game with two goals, including the game-winning tally.

View the All-Star Classic Box Score

Orlando’s Scott Tanski tallied the only goal of the opening period, taking a pass from Eric Baier and beating Ontario goaltender Joe Cannata 4:15 into the contest.

The ECHL All-Stars pulled even 2:27 into the second period. Kalamazoo’s Curtis Valk kept the puck alive on the left post, and fed Wichita’s Danick Gauthier in front who slid a shot between the pads of goaltender Garret Sparks.

Brenden Walker gave the ECHL All-Stars the lead just 1:41 later as he gathered in a rebound and slipped a shot into the net. The lead did not last long however as just 63 seconds later, the Solar Bears pulled even when Carson McMillan beat Greenville goaltender Jeff Malcolm with a wrist shot from the right-wing circle.

Bell gave the ECHL All-Stars a 3-2 lead at 11:59 of the second period as his wrist shot from the right-wing circle eluded the reach of goaltender Sean Bonar who entered the game midway through the period.

Utah’s Alex Krushelnyski gave the ECHL All-Stars a two-goal cushion at 13:26 as he raced the neutral zone and beat Bonar to the stick side from the top of the circles.

The ECHL All-Stars took a 5-2 lead into the locker room after two periods as Bell tallied his second goal of the period with 34.6 seconds remaining, batting a puck out of midair and into the net.

Orlando’s Nick Larson made it a two-goal game as he tallied from the right-wing circle at 3:32 of the third period but Olivier Archambault from Alaska restored the ECHL All-Stars three-goal lead at 5:43 as he roofed a shot past Bonar from the top of the crease.

Exactly a minute later, the Solar Bears once again pulled within two when Spencer McAvoy put a puck past Idaho goaltender Olivier Roy.

Archambault scored his second of the night at 11:12 of the third, finishing off an odd-man rush to make it 7-4 ECHL All-Stars.

Wheeling’s Riley Brace set the final, putting home a rebound with 3:26 remaining.


The Fastest Skater Competition was held during the first period. Alex Krushelnyski of the Utah Grizzlies won the contest with a time of 13.47 seconds, the third-fastest time in ECHL All-Star Skills Competition history. Tanski finished second with a time of 13.59 seconds.

During the second intermission, the Hardest Shot Competition was held and was won by Orlando defenseman Yann Sauve, with a shot of 94 miles per hour. Reading’s Cam Reid was second with a shot of 90 miles per hour.

About the ECHL

Began in 1988-89 with five teams in four states, the ECHL has grown into a coast-to-coast league with 28 teams in 20 states and one Canadian province for its 27th season in 2014-15. There have been 554 players who have gone on to play in the National Hockey League after starting their careers in the ECHL, including 13 who have made their NHL debuts in the 2014-15 season. The ECHL has affiliations with 29 of the 30 NHL teams in 2014-15, marking the 18th consecutive season that the league had affiliations with at least 20 teams in the NHL. Further information on the ECHL is available on its website at as well as on Facebook and Twitter.