ECHL announces 30th Membership in Honolulu, Hawaii for 2017-18 Season

A Pacific Region Island Location Finds Ownership Of Local Shareholders

The ECHL announced on Friday approval of an Expansion Membership application of Honolulu, Hawaii for admission to the ECHL. The Honolulu Membership, along with the recently accepted Worcester, MA membership, will bring the total number of teams in the ECHL to 30 for play in the 2017-18 Season. This total aligns the ECHL with the 30 teams in both the NHL and AHL, and expands the ECHL into a league that will have teams in an unprecedented six time zones. A formal Press Conference with the local ownership group is to be announced in the coming days.