ECHL Players Help Team USA Capture Bronze Medal At IIHF In-Line World Championships

PRINCETON, N.J. – ECHL player Jason Deskins scored two goals and had four assists as Team USA captured the bronze medal with an 11-6 win over the Czech Republic on Saturday at the 2003 International Ice Hockey Federation In-Line Hockey World Championship in Nuremberg, Germany. ECHL players Justin Morrison (2g-2a) and Ernie Hartlieb (0g-4a) had four points in the game while defenseman Geno Parrish (2g-1a) had three points for Team USA.

Deskins, who played for Arkansas, Dayton and Trenton in 2002-03, led the tournament with 15 assists and 25 points and tied for fourth with 10 goals in six games. Defenseman Ernie Hartlieb, who played for Arkansas in 2002-03, tied for sixth with 11 assists and tied for 13th in scoring with 16 points. Justin Morrison, who played for Columbia in 2002-03, tied for 13th in scoring with 16 points (7g-9a) while defenseman Geno Parrish, who played for Greensboro in 2002-03, tied for 14th with eight goals and 21st in scoring with 14 points.

The ECHL was represented by 10 players in the tournament with nine players on Team USA and Johan Olsson, who played for Macon in 2001-02 and was a member of Sweden’s silver medal team. In addition to Deskins, Hartlieb, Morrison and Parrish, the USA roster also had Doug Nolan, who played for Dayton in 2002-03. Other ECHL players on Team USA were Joe Bonvie, who played for Columbus in 1994-95 and Jacksonville in 1996-97; Chris Nelson, who played for Erie and Raleigh in 1993-94 and Nashville in 1994-95; Jeff Reynaert, who played for Mobile in 2001-02; Jason Sessa, who played for Louisiana in 1999-2000 and South Carolina from 1999-2002; and Dayton in 2001-02.

The ECHL opens its 2003-04 season on October 17 with 31 teams in 17 states playing a record 1,116 games, making it the largest league in professional hockey. The ECHL welcomes nine new markets for 2003-04 with the addition of the Alaska Aces, the Bakersfield Condors, the Fresno Falcons, the Gwinnett (Georgia) Gladiators, the Idaho (Boise) Steelheads, the Las Vegas Wranglers, the Long Beach Ice Dogs, the San Diego Gulls, and the Texas (Beaumont) Wildcatters.